One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Dances With Bees

Today, a dance of bees.  There is plenty to celebrate.

Around 3 a.m., I was deeply asleep and I can’t think of a better way for me to have commemorated the four year anniversary of my last cigarette.

Quitting them was one of several challenges I set for myself that Summer of 2008 and the resulting changes to my life were many, all of them for the better.

I couldn’t be happier not to be toting them around anymore, and honestly, I haven’t the slightest idea where the money to pay for them came from (and the price has gone crazy since I quit, too!).

While I sometimes find catching myself looking at smokers with pity or the vaguest of disdain, that’s quickly mitigated by the fact that I do also occasionally find myself riding on their second-hand smoke, or sniffing longingly at a cloud from some nearby cigar.  It’ll always be a challenge, I guess, but one that continues to get easier with time.

Quitnet still sends me a monthly email, which I’m always happy to receive.  They tell me it’s been 1460 days.   They also say that I’ve saved $6,574.50, although this is largely theoretical…and probably only half what I would’ve spent had I not given up the Nicodemon and his foul business.   It’s mind-boggling, seriously, and that’s not even the health costs.

The stat I have always liked best reminds me that by not smoking these last four years, I have restored 5 months, 17 days, 9 hours to my lifetime.   Those are numbers that climb each time I get an email from them and, to my mind, the best reasons to Keep That Quit.

And all reasons to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

