One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Oops

So after work yesterday, I had a phone call from my buddy Bokey.   He was at a 50% off plant sale at one of his favorite nurseries and he wanted some advice about marine heliotrope.   Of course, I said “yes”.

Marine heliotrope is an annual, but a terrific one.   It’s delightful purple flowers, their rich and wonderful perfume, the deep crinkles of their dark green foliage – there’s a lot to love.   With enough sunlight indoors, it is possible to keep one of these growing and blooming after the summer season has come and gone.

I once bought one of these plants which had been trained as a three foot tall standard at a plant show.  It lived for a couple of years.   In the off-season, when sunlight is at a premium, it doesn’t bloom as much, but the flowers then are, perhaps, even more sweetly fragranced.

Of course, knowing Marc shares my fondness for any purple flower, I’m not sure I was such a strong influence on his decision to purchase.  But just to make the story funnier, I Facebook-ed about our phone conversation and accidentally ratted out Marc’s purchase plans to his husband Jess.   Hee hee.

Ooops.

Comments on: "Oops" (2)

  1. It was okay, really! I’m so happy I bought it, and glad that you answered the phone!

  2. student accommodation said:

    This is a topic which is near to my heart…

    Take care! Exactly where are your contact details though?

Leave a Reply

