One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Summer’s Rule

Towering over (but shortly to be clustered around the feet of) the morning glories are my cosmos seedlings.   Except for this shorter one, which started to bloom this week, I’ve cut them all back by half, in hopes of encouraging them to bush out more, since the whole point of them being in there with the morning glories is to shade the roots of the vines.  But I’m already adapting my expectations of them.

The cosmos were planted from a package labeled only COSMOS, which was a free packet of seed received in some solicitation mailing this spring.   The photo on the package featured the yellow and orange blossoms of sulphur cosmos, and I mistakenly assumed that meant that’s what kind of flowers these would be.   I’m not disappointed with the pink, carmine and white variety, but I was anticipating something different.

And in a way, I got that, too.   Look at the curly business the internal flower petals are getting up to.  Isn’t that fabulous and fantastical?

Summer’s here:  expect the Unexpected.

Comments on: "Summer’s Rule" (2)

  1. Yes, I like the curly business. Is that a variation of normal for a Cosmos?
    105 degrees is unexpected. Hope you aren’t that hot on the Cape.

  2. midnightgardener said:

    I don’t remember seeing a second set of petals in cosmos, so I was a little surprised, but not outrageously so. Could be a mutation of the seed. Maybe it crossed with something in the seashell variety. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen double flowers for this particular species before. And NO, thank goodness, nothing so hot as that. 74 and humid just now, at 7:48 pm. But I don’t want to walk away from in front of the fan, either.

Leave a Reply

