One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Seven!!!

“No occupation is so delightful to me as the culture of the earth…and no culture comparable to that of the garden…but though an old man, I am but a young gardener.”

With those words of Thomas Jefferson and a chipmunks eye view of a garden bed in Eastham, I began this silly garden blog SEVEN years ago this weekend.   Seven years.   Yeesh.  I think it’s funny that I chose the Jefferson quote – I did it because I’d just turned forty and honestly, I think I feel younger now than I did back then.

So much has changed in seven years, not the least of which is our climate – back then it was daffodils just coming into bloom.  This year, the daffs are almost all faded and it’s the lilacs blooming weeks ahead of the old schedule.

Before starting, I’d read a blog or two before(the first, of course, was Joe‘s, who had started one year to the day earlier than my first post – happy Eighth to you, Joe!!!) and I thought it was a pretty cool idea.    Previously, I’d been keeping a website at GeoCities, now long lost (but does anything on the Internet ever really go away) to us, called Emily’s Online Dog House, which featured some of my early digital photography and presented as a comfortable way for people to know my beautiful, but-not-often-safe-to-meet-in-person dog, Emily Grace.

I remember a television news piece about blogging was what finally inspired me to check out Blogspot and finally get going.   I’d just begun working at restoring some long-abandoned gardens at the place where we rented and I wanted to share that experience with far-flung family and friends and at first, my “blogging” was just about mutely sharing photos.   But in time, I started to find my voice and discovered I had a few things to say about the gardening process…and eventually, the blog and the blog community I  found, helped me hear that voice of mine more clearly, and wow, what a can of worms that opened.  :)

Over the years, as my world and I have evolved and changed, so has the blog.   I don’t post as often these days, partly because my gardening habits have changed:   lots of my gardening happens in containers these days and plenty of what I used to consider “disposable” cash to fuel my gardening addiction now goes into my gas tank.    I also find  that I can share photos with more immediacy through Facebook (if we’re Friends there, you’ll already know that) these days…but I try to come and blog when I think I have something to say.


Anniversaries are silly things – doesn’t Life move  quickly enough without us ticking off the minutes, hours years?   But they also give us a reason to stop and take stock, to review the past, to make note of the changes and to start scheming about the days ahead.  Dwelling in the past is rarely healthy, but a glance back for perspective can be kind of exciting.

On this seventh “blog-o-versary”, I thank all of you who stop by to see a few photos or listen to me ramble.   I have good intentions, as always, about blogging more and I hope you’ll keep coming by now and then to see how I’m doing with that.

But meanwhile, what are you doing inside?  It’s a beautiful day – get out there and see some of it for yourself!!!

Comments on: "Seven!!!" (2)

  1. Happy anniversary, my friend. The world is a better place with you, your lovely garden, and the photos of it in it.

  2. Wow!! I thought I was doing well lasting past year five! The blog looks as beautiful as ever, gosh your gardening skills are something to be seriously envied!

    I think I found you via Jenn’s blog many moons ago (Jenn Thorson) and although I don’t comment very often, have always loved the pictures that you post and wordage that you write.

    Blogging has evolved for me too, and like yourself I don’t blog anywhere near as often as I used to, but have made so many cool friends because of it, that I always find myself wandering back to it and randomly updating when I have something to say.

    Hopefully I might get to peek at the garden this year :)

    Blog on my friend!

Leave a Reply

