One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Glories of the Morning

Some of Summer 2011’s best moments were definitely about Morning Glories.

The deck here is really ideal for growing them, what with the stellar morning light and all.

In previous summers I hadn’t gotten my act together in time to do it right.  And by right, I mean that I want them growing everywhere, wandering over doorways, along rooflines, under porch railings, making a Jungle of the whole world.

Or something like that.

Last summer, I may have achieved Evil Genius (well, so FAR…bwa ha ha ha...) status with the morning glories.   I had started some indoors, well ahead of the outdoor season, so they were ready to climb and bloom early on.   Another pot of seeds was started around Memorial Day and then the last planting came together with some remaindered, unmarked morning glory vines I found at my favorite local nursery somewhere around mid July.  Those really came into their own as August became September (after the vines of July and August had been defoliated by Hurricane Irene’s salty winds) and bloomed well into the autumn.

For trellacing, I created webs of twine over a network of cuphooks and thumbtacks and barbecue skewers, a sort of playground for the eager vines.   It was fun to lay it out, and really the best way to get them to run where in the narrow spaces I wanted them to, around posts or under railings and such.   And if you can keep up with the watering, they will run like crazy, so its important to get a jump on them with the trellacing.

And the nice thing about the Twine Plan is you can always add new sections as you need them, too.

The seeds of those first two major plantings, by the way, came courtesy of my favorite City Gardener and his Harlem windowbox vines of the Grandpa Ott’s variety.  They are – naturally – the purple ones.   This post also serves as a visual guide to the mixed parentage of the package of seeds which should shortly be arriving in his mailbox.   Who knows what the bees might’ve gotten crossed.

The Catsby doesn’t like me to sleep in, and even when he can be coerced to cuddle, the Nest is a nice bright place, so I’m slowly becoming a morning person.  Sort of.   Morning glories encourage me that way, too.   If I must be awake, then what fun to take my first cup of coffee out into their pre-dawn company, watching them unfurl to meet the rising sun.

It’s been snowing while I write this and the nighttime view outside my window is becoming brighter as it starts to accumulate.  I’m glad it’s finally turned wintery, because seriously, what’s Spring without Winter?

But ahhhh, those Summer Mornings.

 

Comments on: "Glories of the Morning" (3)

  1. This makes me so happy. It’s like my dreams of Russian Olive and Linden trees, enough to keep us sustained throughout the rest of the year..

    I’ve always loved Morning Glories, especially the sweetness of their name.

    And oh, those last two shots are wonderful.

    Thank you, my friend.

  2. Coming to this a little late (whatever HAS happened to my blogging?) but it was a delight, as always, to see the photos. I’m planting some of the seeds you sent me in a day or so, as a second wave to the ones already sprouting. Thanks for reminding me to come up with the jungle gym for them NOW, before they’ve taken off.

  3. I have been browsing online greater than 3 hours as of late, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the web can be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

