One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

I’m not much of a resolver, when it comes to New Years.   Sure, I can see where the illusory Fresh Start of a new calendar can be a motivator for some, but I can’t say it’s often worked for me, nor actually, for lots of other people I know.   It’s not to say I don’t see room for improvement – twas ever thus, but the whole NY Resolutions Thing often feels like magnified guilt over too many Christmas cookies.

This morning on Facebook, my friend Anna posted this:

“Every new year people make resolutions to change aspects of themselves they believe are negative. A majority of people revert back to how they were before and feel like failures. This year I challenge you to a new resolution. I challenge you to just be yourself.”

It doesn’t matter that they weren’t her original thoughts but something she read somewhere.  She admits posting because she shared the sentiment, which is what I’m doing here, because they are wise words, really.

Be yourself.   Don’t know who that is?  Try something new that interests you and see what happens.   Don’t change because you think it will make someone else happy.  Be true to yourself and see where it leads you this year.  And you know what, I know a whole bunch of you, and generally, my advice is don’t change, I like you just the way you are.

(But for the record, only 17 days away from 2.5 years without cigarettes!)

Say, last night I forgot to show you a picture of this new amaryllis we’ve welcomed to the Nest.  The bulb was a birthday gift and you can see its grown rather quickly in the two or three weeks its been with us.   The amaryllis I’ve enjoyed the last two winters has also been brought out of its autumn hibernation recently, but shows no signs of growth just yet.  I recall it was slow to green up last winter, too and then turned out just fine.

This new year brought us a lovely day, with temperatures almost in the fifties and – perhaps more importantly – no wind and so my Purry Pal and I decided to seize the day and start off the new year in style with a nice afternoon stroll around the yard.

Since our recent freeze a couple weeks back was the first real hard freeze we had, there’d been allyssum blooming here and there and pretty much everywhere right up until then, thanks to my fashion of flinging the stuff about…and while my Cat Buddy didn’t care, I was kind of excited to find a small clump of it in a sheltered corner of the garden merrily blooming to meet the sunny day.

He was mostly interested in finding some grass to nibble on and to see what things smelled like.     We made it around the house and through the hedge to the Next Doors when I realized he was slipping out of his harness, which brought an end to our explorations.  Of course he squirmed and fussed, but our adventure lasted about long enough for him and he’s been snoozing the day away since.

Once my pal was watered and treated and happily settled inside, I headed out for a walk of my own, to see what sort of sunset business this first day of the year might bring.   It was one of those nights where it looked as though it would fuzz out short of the horizon, thanks to distant cloud cover (rain tomorrow), but it was still a lovely afternoon and a great opportunity to have a peaceful and thoughtful ramble to the bay and back.

You’re most welcome to come along with me.

I can’t say I have any particularly detailed hopes and dreams to share with you about this new year before us.  Que sera, sera:  more of what I’ve been enjoying will be just fine, thanks.

As long as there are walks through afternoons like this one.

Comments on: "Walking Into the New Year" (8)

  1. And so,… we continue. Here’s to a spectacular 2011 for you my friend!

  2. Glorious. Simply glorious…

  3. Good to have you back
    Great Pics
    Happy new Year

  4. WHY does my amaryllis only have leaves and not even a hint of a flower head like yours? Mine is in a south window in the sunroom and I revived it around the same time you did…but I have only leaves 12-18 inches long. :-(

    Marc, the amaryllis photographed here is a NEW one, a fresh bulb received as a birthday gift that was all too eager to leap into action. My revival project actually hasn’t shown any signs of growth yet. Last year I thought I’d only get leaves for a little while on the old one. Patience, grasshoppah – perhaps you’ll have a flower for Valentines.

  5. A most excellent and auspicious start to 2011. Here’s wishing you (two) hundreds more amazing sunsets and tasty blades of grass this year.

  6. Mmmm, tasty blades of grass.

    I like the sentiment in the bit about resolutions. A few years ago I quit trying to make those typical resolutions. I’ve been much happier with myself since.

    Here is my poem for you and Mr. Purrypants for the new year:
    Revolutions, resolutions, institutions, and tasty blades of grass. Amen.

  7. Thanks for the lovely walk, Pal. Love the GBH shot! You sound like you’re in a good place, literally and figuratively. More of the same, indeed.

  8. What a lovely walk; thank you for taking me along. I especially love the boulder shot. That one could be framed and sold.

Leave a Reply

