One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Watch This Space

Look, the bee balm is blooming its head off!!

So, hi.  It’s been a while, sorry about that.    Beaucoup de excuses to select from – concerts, humidity, rehearsals, travel, actual gardening.  There’s been train trips and boat rides and cat walks and all manner of good and/or interesting times.

And of course there’s the summer reading – and the recent heat has been ideal for lounging about in front of a fan with a good book.  Close enough to touch (but it’s too hot for us to think much about that, plus the combination of fans and cat fur is not always a good one) is my Purry Pal, when he’s not off watching the bird show on the deck.

The good books I speak of?  Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout was an enjoyable read, but I’ve followed that with the realization that it was finally time I read Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. I know, even I’m surprised I hadn’t already read it, but I’ve not, nor seen the movie…though nearly halfway through, I could easily cast Gregory Peck.   Whatta book.

Anyway, with the holiday weekend approaching and a little – hopefully – free time, not to mention cooler temperatures, I hope to be catching up with you all shortly on all of that.   Well, most of it.   We’ll see.

Meanwhile, Happy Summer and Good Solstice to you.   Also, Happy Pride.

Back shortly!

Comments on: "Watch This Space" (2)

  1. It’s always a great pleasure to look at your blog Greg, but the main reason I comment is wishing you a happy 4th of July. Hope you can enjoy your summer.

  2. I read To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time when I was an adult, about 8 or 9 years ago. Extremely good book. The movie follows the book very accurately, though it leaves out a few of the minor story lines that I really liked in the book.

    It’s good to be back here in the garden. It’s been a while since I stopped by. I miss you. I’m listening to your sound track now, which brings back memories of two summers ago. Has it been that long!? I know that was a difficult summer for you, but it means something different for me.

    What a wonderful book! I loved every word of it! I’m glad you stopped by, though its been a while since I’ve posted much of anything. I’m really hoping to get caught up very soon, although who knows if I’ll ever be a daily poster like I was back then. Those were interesting times, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

