One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

I was a bit premature in declaring the irises finished.

These old irises I divided and transplanted last autumn are blooming a little late this year (compared to many of the others, anyway), which means they are blooming when they always have.   They’re also not blooming quite so prolifically, which is a product of the dividing, but they’re growing happily and will thrive in years to come.   Just to be sure I’m a liar, there’s some lovely purple irises still blooming in a shady part of the back yard, too.

The heliotrope, which I mentioned last time around, continues to perfume the yard and – on warm breezes through the window –  the Nest, which is lovely.  Here it is (above) are towering over the rest of the driveway fence garden.

At its feet, a host of Shasta daisies are beginning to form flower buds, almost a full month ahead of schedule.  My goodness, what will we enjoy for blooms when September comes, if this schedule keeps up?

New to the yard (but not to the blog) this spring are a pair of foxglove plants.   It’s been my experience that they will happily seed themselves about and give me plenty of seedlings to play with.

I just love the look of them and if one is going to create that overgrown, English cottage garden kind of look, foxglove is really required.  I’m a big fan of their tall spires of color.

Although it would be nice if I could figure out how to sleep in a little later these days(staying up late doesn’t do the trick, I still wake by 8:30, it seems, often much earlier), I do enjoy having my weekends off these days.

They fill up pretty quickly, I find, but this morning I found myself with some free time, so after putting on a pot of coffee, I wandered out into the yard to see and do a few things.



The big plan for the morning, anyway, was to address the sunflower seedlings.  I’d started them inside a while back, transplanted them into larger pots once and have been giving them a little extra love and food while they hardied off on the new deck.   But they grow fast and the time had come to put them in the ground.

A few have stayed in our own back yard, but the neighbors have much better sun exposure and have expressed their approval with my doing a little planting over there (“We would totally hate it if Greg planted sunflowers in our yard,” I am told they said with a wink.).

They are only around occasionally, as its a summertime rental property for them, but you can see they do some planting and mulching to make it look great.  Keeping my sunflowers watered means I’ll be watching after their zinnias and such, too.

So as thunder rumbled in the distance and the skies darkened, I took a dozen or so of my sunflower babies out into the yard and made new homes from them in this pictured bed below and also another in our own yard.   There’s a few more to find spots for (and a few have been gifted), and I have more seeds to direct sow for bloom later in the season.  I’m happy to say I got the majority of them happily into the ground just before a wicked thunderstorm with some good soaking rains cracked open all around us.

The yellow climbing roses above are in the neighbors’ yard, as well.   I’m a big fan of the single flowered rose, I think they are so simple and lovely and old-fashioned.   That also often means they’ve not had their delicious fragrance bred away in lab experiments that seek the perfect long-lasting blossom.  These guys are certainly a treat for the nose.

Not far away, great hedges of hydrangeas are sporting many flowerheads for the season ahead, a few of which are already blue-ing up nicely.

Back in our own yard, I was delighted to spot these pink double-flowered snapdragons in bloom.   They were planted as annuals last year and I’m tickled that they are going along with my plan for world conquest by having perennialized, as I’d hoped.

In another part of the forest – not far from one of the foxglove, in fact – I found this Sweet William blooming.   I’m sort of amused with the way this plant’s seeds get around, since it seems sort of random and far-flung sometimes.

But you shouldn’t think I’m ever unhappy to see the stuff, it’s a nice addition to the garden roster this time of year and the color range on the species is pretty remarkable.  It doesn’t read especially well in this image – a trick of the light, I suppose – but the purple centers of these fuschia flowers are pretty terrific.

And here’s that other iris that says I’m a liar.

Comments on: "Saturday Garden Report" (4)

  1. Ooo Ooo Ooo!!! Hydrangeas! *happy clapping*

    I’ll have you know that I finally planted some morning glories in my front yard. The ones by the piece of fence near the road have sprouted and begun to grow. I need to go out there and hang some string to guide them up the fence pickets.

    I think the irises are laughing at you. It’s a happy laugh, and I’m laughing along. All of these beauties are, well, beautiful. I’m glad to see you sharing them with us here. This is by far my favorite garden.

  2. I love the delicate detail in Foxgloves.
    Snapdragons were always a favorite as a child.

  3. Sharon said:

    Miss my Adirondack foxglove and didn’t realize how much until I saw your pics…..also love the idea of fostering sunflowers after the midnight gardener nurtures their early growth…..such a talent!

  4. I am astonished to see your flowers. I can’t believe you can actually have those kind of flowers to grow and bloom to be such picturesque. Most specially that purple iris. I love it! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

