One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."


Please stand by. Of course I haven’t forgotten you; I’ve had an actual blog post with words and everything germinating on my mental windowsill for a while now.  But this isn’t it.  Perhaps you could say I haven’t been managing my time properly…but part of Spring is that there’s just so much going on.  That seems especially so this year, and particularly this week, as we enter our final days before my first concert with the chorale

What a fun, exciting and thrilling experience this has been.  It’s also been a bit of a trial by fire for this gardener (who’s not read music in a dozen years or sung more seriously than is required for the shower or the car, or humming about the yard) since it may be the most challenging concert program I’ve ever performed.

The two concerts this weekend coincide with the occasion of my 21 month anniversary away from cigarettes, so it is a fitting celebration, in my mind.   I’ve also joined a second smaller group associated with the chorale, the a cappella Chamber Singers, which is even more fun and challenges me with a completely different variety of music.

And lots of the time I’ve managed “poorly” (from a blogger’s point of view, at least) has been spent happily digging in garden beds, getting everything weeded and looking brilliant for the season before us, which seems this year to be about two weeks ahead of schedule.   There’s talk of there being no daffodils still in bloom by the time the Brewster in Bloom festival happens in a couple weeks and I heard this week that records have been set not only for warm temperatures, but the earliest recorded laying of piping plover eggs out on the beaches.

Which isn’t to say it’s been all sunshine and crocuses – we had a pretty heavy frost just two days ago – but the season is on the march and there’s plenty more I want to tell you and show you, about new plantings and agastache seedlings and other garden projects and kitties and foxes and so on.   But today I’ve got laundry to do and both German and Latin lyrics to practice for the weekend.

Fortunately, Spring is always good at speaking for itself.

Soon it’s gonna rain.  I can see it.
Soon it’s gonna rain.  I can tell.
Soon it’s gonna rain.
What are we gonna do
?”

–Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt, The Fantastiks, 1960.

Comments on: "Soon It’s Gonna Rain…" (3)

  1. I love the colour of that tulip Greg, do you know the variety? And there is always something so welcoming about the face of a pansy, thanks for the pics.

    We’ve had everything happening about four weeks later than usual over here but Spring has happened at last.

    Best wishes for your concert, I’m sure the blogging can wait!

    Thanks, Goo, for your good wishes – the concerts were terrific! I’m afraid I don’t know the tulip variety. I confess it was a rather cheap package of bulbs that didn’t offer much specificity, but still delightful flowers!

  2. I so look forward to the colors of your posts! Whether I get outside or not, I can always count on my nature fix from you. Beautiful.

  3. He sings, he plants, he photographs! Amazing.

Leave a Reply

