One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

The Ides of March found me laid low with another cold, no doubt the result from dashing about in the rain on Saturday evening when I ought to have known better.   Ah, well.  It seems already to be passing and this day for the Wearing of the Green found me feeling better with each passing moment.   We’d started with a scrape-able bit of frost on the windshield this morning, so it was a nice treat that the weather improved so as the day wore on, with golden sunshine and temperatures in the fifties to greet us as we left the workplace this evening.

At home, I was greeted by a wee bit of gold in the garden along the front of the house, where just a few months ago I’d planted a wave of golden snow crocuses to finish off that bed’s replanting.  Snow crocuses are so funny to me, with the eager way they often seem to have started blooming slightly before they made the decision to burst out of the ground.  As a result they can seem a bit ratty-tattery about the edges…but their bright flash of color is just the treat we are looking for.

They are only the first to bloom and I planted a number of them.  I think there might’ve been a few other varieties, as well…and there are certainly plenty of little green shoots coming up all over the place.  As is typical, I’m seeing things sprouting where I don’t remember planting them, too, which has me wondering if last autumn’s digging loosened up some long dormant bulbs who’ll join the show unexpectedly.    I do know there’s lots of Star of Bethlehem around, so perhaps it’s more of that, among other things.

Ah, surprises; just one more thing to love about Spring.

When I ran upstairs to the Nest to grab the camera, I was greeted by the Eagerest Catsby, who quickly informed me that it was Spring (!!!!!!) and also the Seventeenth of March – which everyone knows is Saint Catdude’s Day – and there was nothing to be done but to go for a nice long walk about the yard.

Which was funny because, except for the part about renaming the day in His honor (because, seriously, isn’t every day Catdude’s Day?), I was thinking more or less the same thing and so it was barely a few minutes before I’d gotten him harnessed up and off we went to ramble about in those fading golden rays of the day.

It’s funny how tiny those golden crocuses are, that they are nearly invisible in this photo of Himself stalking past the bed where they are blooming.

There was much to sniff and many new blades of grass to be nibbled, so he took no notice of wee flowers and led me on a nice tour of the garden beds along the south side of the house.

There’s daffodils coming up all over the place.   A good number were here already, but I also added that whole bucket and more of them last fall, too.   However, there were still a couple which seemed to be popping up in unexpected places.

The nice thing about having freshened up some garden beds around here last year is that, as things bloom in random spots around the yard this year, I can shift them around more easily to arrange pretty pictures for Springs Yet To Be.


Ah, it was as much fun to be out and about with my Purry Pal as I’d remembered it being.   It’s a treat to see the world through his eyes, or at least try to imagine what the experience is like for him.   I’m sure he’s aware of a whole range of things that go on out there in the yard that I don’t even register, not having his cat-like (well, okay, just cat) senses.

So I focus on the things that I do notice, like the pair of red-headed woodpeckers who are amorously chasing one another from limb to limb through the catawba and cherry tree branches.  A pair of wood ducks make parallel lines across the sky way above us.

I’m sure he must notice the subterranean squeak that comes when we walk over and compress a mole tunnel, or the way the wrens are making such a fuss about his appearance in the yard, leashed up or not.  But he’s all focused on the way the world smells, perhaps taking notes from the branches he runs his nose along about who’s been there before us, or finding a nice tender patch of grass to nibble.

There’s certainly plenty to take in, be we gardener or cat and we tried to balance our varied interests as we make our way around the yard on this first big walk of the year.    In the bamboo bed out in the backyard, where plenty of new iris shoots are making their little green swords, I discovered that other yellow viola plant from last spring.   It’s looking a bit worn today, but has indeed been out there blooming for at least a few days, singing a duet with a purple pansy nearby and just waiting for someone to take notice.

We make our way around the perimeter of the yard, each of us a little overwhelmed with all we see and hear.  The shadows are getting longer, because it is still only mid-March and the temperature is dropping a little to remind us of that, as well.   Heck, the first official day of Spring doesn’t happen until the weekend.

But there’s a forecast of temperatures in the sixties tomorrow, so we know that this was just the first of many evenings ahead like this one or better.   Just as we make the decision to head in, we noticed in the yard’s farthest corner that the myrtle has even begun offering a few furtive blooms to pretty up the shadows.

And so we headed inside for some dinner, our noses full of the scent of Spring and our heads a-whirl with promises for other days.

Comments on: "On The Seventeenth of March" (5)

  1. Good to see your daffodils coming !

    Thanks for dropping by, Villager! Your blog looks lovely – can’t wait to check it out this weekend!!

  2. I love the promise of spring. I haven’t seen any spring flowers here yet, but I can hear the blackbird at night and the snow’s melting everywhere (flooding the streets). I bought some pearl hyacinths the other day and they look so pretty on the windowsill. Enjoy your weekend and working in the garden, I hope it’s warm and sunny!

    Flowers on the windowsill is a good way to encourage Spring, Charlie. I hope your snowmelt isn’t too troublesome and that it reveals some spring flowers ready to bloom. Sending you warm breezes from my garden to yours!

  3. When the new season begins, I am always happy to see the new plants growing. You are right when you say that it is great to see random plants growing in different areas.

  4. Interesting, your comment about the size of the perky little yellow crocuses. Photographed up close they look absolutely gigantic–maybe the breeders need to work on a 6-foot crocus? But then Himself looks pretty enormous when photographed from the ground, though I’m not sure that that’s not the size he perceives Himself to be.

  5. Diana Fimiano said:

    Greg your site is a delight!!!!
    The pics are beautiful!
    My daughter and I tried to look you up @ the restaurant but you had gone???
    Just wanted to say hi!
    Diane and Sandy

Leave a Reply

