One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Rainy weekend seems like a bit of an understatement.   The storm that’s blown through this weekend (and still buffets us a bit as I write this) was certainly a big one and a news maker, too.   I’ve been hearing a lot on the radio about how its brought down lots of trees and caused power outages and all kinds of mayhem in the greater Northeast.  I guess we are pretty lucky.   I’ve seen a few branches down, but nothing too intense (except the rain) (OK, and the wind).  Just the usual flooding.   Honestly, wind and rain is not an unusual condition here on the Cape.

In fact, it’s really just Cape Cod Spring.   Toward that end, this patch of snowdrops have appeared alongside the barn outside the apartment.   What fun to spot them blooming Friday morning.

Since it was raining, I felt no misgivings about picking up a few hours of overtime in the office yesterday morning.   Even if I’d had, finding my amaryllis happily in bloom when I got to the office was worth the effort.  What a beauty, huh?

I’m very proud of having been able to coax it into blooming a second year in a row.  I wonder if there’s time to give it another nap when this bloom cycle finishes and get it to do so out in the garden this summer…

The storm certainly hasn’t curtailed any bird activity and we have been seeing regular marauding by great hordes of blackbirds newly returned to the Cape area, comprised of red-wing blackbirds, grackels, cowbirds and starlings.   The latter, of course, lead their own looting and pillaging missions often, but this weekend, seem to be mixed up with a great cloud of other blackbirds.

They make super-short work of any food out in the various feeders, so you’d be reasonable in imagining that both up and downstairs here, we occasionally burst out of doors, trying to scare them off to preserve a little food for  our regular bird friends, but it’s a vain effort, at best.   I recently added a suet feeder on the deck, so I’ve had some close up visits from a few starlings, but I’m also happy to say the chickadees don’t waste any time returning when the cloud has moved on to other yards and feeding stations.

Before getting a look at the forecast for the weekend, I’d made plans to have a late-day haircut in Provincetown and figured out I’d stay in town for dinner and a few drinks and see just what was going on.  It being March, my expectations were low.   In theory, it was a great plan and when I arrived in town, I discovered that it actually was a theme weekend I could get behind:  Bears Out of Hibernation.

However, if the idea of the weekend had brought a few bears out of hibernation and into PTown for the weekend, it seemed the miserable weather was also keeping them safe and warm indoors.   If I’d lingered in town until much later in the evening, I’m sure I’d have found them.  But I might also have learned before then just what a lightweight I am about cocktails these days…and since t’was already a weekend short an hour, due to Daylight Savings Time, it seemed the better part of wisdom to head home to hunker down against the storm.

And the worst of it certainly came late last night, when rain battered against the outside of the house from all sides, accompanied by wind gusts that rose and sustained for so long a few times that I was a bit worried the house might blow away or at least a few of our trees.

The storm’s continued on and off throughout today, and with the loss of an hour, I was glad to have little to do outside, though there were a few errands to run during a break in the rain this afternoon.   To my surprise, I discovered a patch of early daffodils already beginning to do their thing around the corner from home.   And so the season marches on.  In just a week, we’ll celebrate the official start of Spring, so perhaps this early blooming  just feels like its too soon.

One of those errands was to stop at the local nursery, where I picked up some of those little peat pellets for seed starting.  The ones that expand when you get them wet.  I’ve got a variety of seeds I’m hoping to get started in the next couple of weeks, preparing for the garden season before us.   There’s marigolds and cosmos and morning glories and sweetpeas and agastache and columbine seeds.

Meanwhile, I recently met and fell in love with a delightful new primrose last week, which I found in the plant department of the supermarket.   I love the way it features the whole range of violet and purple in its blooming cycle.   Pretty, eh?

Right now its flourishing on the kitchen window sill but when our days are a little warmer, I’ll put it into one of the garden beds out in the yard, where it’s sure to bloom and grow nicely.

This weekend feels like a bit of a reversal.   It’s hard to believe that just a week ago it was a good ten degrees warmer and I was walking to the bay to enjoy the sunset.   Today, it was hard to believe the sun even existed.   I’ll try to get those sunset pictures from last weekend up shortly; they’d be nice to warm our hands over now, I think.

Comments on: "A Rainy Weekend Before Spring" (4)

  1. Thanks for sharing – Love the snowdrop picture.
    We were looking at the Provincetown webcam yesterday,
    as we often do. We could tell the weather was bad.

  2. niceblog. thanks for the valuable infos..

  3. What’s the deal with grackles anyway? When I was young, I’d never heard of them or seen one; now they are everywhere, in every state I’ve visited. Where’d they come from ?

    That sun you’re looking for? It’s over here. :)

    Grackels were one of the first birds I learned to identify, back at the end of the last century, when identifying birds was becoming more important to me, so I’ve always known them and been a little fascinated with the oily way their blue heads change color in the light. Perhaps they have only recently discovered YOU. There certainly are a heck of a lot of them, it seems.

    We found that sun, too. Details shortly.

  4. The primrose is beautiful! I, too, like those peat pellets, though I haven’t started any seeds in a couple of years. I find that starting seeds is one of those projects I start but don’t follow through.

    Being safe and warm inside while a storm rages outside, that sounds exciting to me. Especially if I know the house is structurally sound!

    I mostly felt quite secure during the storm, and never did I feel like the house was in danger of flying to bits (although maybe not so much with the deck). I was a little concerned what that big catawba out back might do to the house if it came loose in the wind. No worries, though. All steadfast and strong here!

Leave a Reply

