One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Winter’s Warmth

Wow, so a couple of you took umbrage with my casual mention of Spring in the last post.   I guess the snowblindness and frostbite are making you a little cranky, but the facts are in my favor.  Every night the sun sets just a little later, there’s more birds around, and it’ll only be a couple of months or less before I have crocus pictures to share with you.   On the evening I was writing, I’d just been out for a nice long walk on a day when we enjoyed temperatures in the high 40s and – more importantly – almost no wind.   It was delightfully spring-like, comparitively-speaking, and I guess that spilled over into my writing.

Since I was due for a haircut, I’d gone to wander around Provincetown for an afternoon.  It’s pretty quiet out there this time of year,  but still fun to go for a walk after being off my feet earlier in the month, especially with the sunny day to enjoy.

It’s been nice to have those warm memories with me this weekend, of course.   As the week ended, freight train winds roared into town with temps in the 20s, and a windchill to knock us into negative numbers.   Brrr.  Tiny little ice crystals spin around in the sunny cold air and almost all the birds spend lots of the windy day in hiding.   Only the crows are visible, huddled together on the branches outside the window, their black feathers absorbing the sun’s heat.

Lots of businesses in PTown are closed this time of year, and some of the property owners have arranged to have local students’ art displayed in storefront windows.   I just loved this chickadee painting, and in the bargain, you get one of those stealthy blogger self-portraits.

Have no fear, my friends – I know that all of February…and March…stretch ahead of us for winter, and I’m sure plenty of that will be cold.  But if it’s all the same to you, I’ll hold onto my memories of warm days and keep watching the time on those sunsets.

It really will be Spring before we know it.

Comments on: "Winter’s Warmth" (5)

  1. If you look closely at the trees you’ll see they’re already starting to form buds. Spring is coming!

  2. *Sigh*
    Such beauty!
    I have felt the subtle change within the season. It’s as if Winter has roused enough to turn over in bed, and is settling down for a bit more rest. But his sleep has been disturbed enough so that now he begins to dream of Spring. Yes, it is coming.

  3. I love the small buildings of an old beach community. They’re disappearing fast. Kudos to Ptown city planners for keeping the code to a low profile.

    I hope to have similar gorgeous seascapes and sunsets in another week, from the Keys. Counting the days!

  4. Glad you’re back on your feet–and I’m sure you are too! You’ve got lots of motivation around you to get outside and I’m glad you’re taking advantage of it. One really positive thing I’ll say about winter is the light, about how even at midday there’s this amber glaze off towards the horizon–You can see it in your first photo. We’re getting longer days here too, but we’re losing that special tinge. I’ll miss it.

  5. Single digits here again this morning. I do notice the sun marching steadily higher in the sky, but it still feels like late afternoon to me at 12 o’clock. Pretty pictures!

    If it feels like Happy Hour at lunchtime, then perhaps that’s not the worst thing about February, eh, Torn!? Happy Groundhog’s Day!!

Leave a Reply

