One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Window on Summer

This is what it looks like outside.   Bright and sunny, a snow covered landscape.  Hidden patches of ice beneath the snow.

The swelling on my foot is going away, making the great big bruise along the side of my foot and big toe more visible.

I thought it was all better earlier, and so for a little while I tried doing more than just sitting around with my leg elevated, but it’s quite sore at this end of the day.   Still, I’m feeling much better than last week, and already thinking about training some morning glories and sweet peas on those silly crutches.

I’m eager to get outside and enjoy some of these daylight hours for which I am suddenly free, before I am all too soon working throughout the day again.   Patience, Grasshopper, I whisper to myself, looking out the window.   Be healed first, then move on to the future.  There’s no need to rush.

Generally, I am all for looking forward, and not back, although some of that sort of thinking is unavoidable.  In this case, I don’t think it’s unhealthy, though.   While clearing off 2009’s image files from my hard drive, I happened on some folders of photos I took at the wedding I was hired to work last June.

I’ve not shared many images from the day for a while, as they were understandably embargoed to give the bride first crack.   These are just a few detail shots that I thought you might like to warm your cold January hands over, a window on Summer if you will.

Comments on: "Window on Summer" (5)

  1. Cool–an opening that’s both a window and a mirror. Looks like it was a lovely wedding. I like your idea of using crutches for a trellis. We have a walker around the house from some accident too far back in time to remember; the walker now make a great lightweight and portable base for a garden worktable. (When life gives you lemons…)

  2. I can feel the warmth from the sun in those shots. Except for that first one, which looks a whole lot like the view from my own window right now. (Counting the days to Florida!)

    My toe is all better after having kicked the ice off my car. Yours must have been more ice than slush to have done such damage. Give it time and stay off your feet!

  3. Greg, this is indeed a lovely post (esp. bc of the pics) and I feel guilty for not make much comments here lately. I hope I will find my routine again to look regularly at the worthy things in life like your blog, what includes you of course the author, your sometimes no not intricate, not twisted, sth I can’t really explain thoughts and your never failing sense for the mystery of beauty. Perhaps this remark would have been better reserved for an e-mail, but I had the need for a public self-reproach atm. :-)

    It’s always nice to hear from you, Martin. But you should buy no guilt about not commenting if you choose not to, as well. And there’s no denying my thoughts are a little twisted, sometimes, though I try to keep most of that unseen in most internet presence! ; )

  4. Thanks for the summer breeze, Greg. I needed that.

    I think that looking back acknowledges the continuum and is essential to living an integrated life.

    “Patience, Grasshopper, I whisper to myself, looking out the window.” Heh, like Alice “who generally gave herself very good advice.”

  5. I love the Cardinal picture and of course the snow pics. But I am sure you are getting cabin fever as I would. They’ll be great days ahead.

Leave a Reply

