One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

All’s Well

Rose-of-Sharon

Hello, my dears!  First, thanks to all of you for your best wishes, notes of encouragement and all about my minor medical adventure.  I really do have the best pals.

This will be the shortest of posts, but I wanted to let you know that I am now returned to the Nest, after this afternoon’s hernia surgery and doing really pretty well, although I don’t discount the voice of the post-0p meds in that assessment, either.  ; )

We got in a little trouble for arriving so early to the hospital, but its August and traffic around here always has the potential to go from O to Nightmare in next to nothing, so we didn’t mind hanging out in the waiting room for a while until my turn arrived.   That was the only glitch in the day, and really, it’s pretty much an unglitch, isn’t it?

I’m happy to say that all the staff who helped me through the grand adventure were pleasant and fun and helpful and I really had gotten entirely over the whole “freaking out” thing by the time the moment arrived.   And just as quickly, the moment was passed and I was happily munching on some Lorna Doones in recovery.

So, that’s the story, peoples.   I’m off to rest and relax and recover and all that.   I shan’t be gone too long, but meanwhile, please do enjoy Chatham Light, as it appeared at dusk last evening as we made our way home from dinner.

Chatham-Light

Oh, and lest I forget, I want to wish my dear sister Sue the Happiest of Birthdays today.   I hope it’s a lovely day where she is!

Comments on: "All’s Well" (8)

  1. We’re so glad to hear all went well! Hope your recovery goes well, and quickly!!!!

    The Shaws

    Thanks, friends! Doing good so far…I’d write more, but I’m off to spoil myself some more and have another nap!

  2. Glad to know you are ok :-)
    Best wishes for a quick recovery too.
    I know I never commented before but I have been following your blog since last winter, I think it is great.

    Thanks, Bob! Welcome…thanks for letting me know you’re out there reading!

  3. I figured you showed up early so you could WATCH the surgery team wash its collective hands. No? Well, I’m glad you’re home, feeling well, and if the meds are involved, so be it. That’s (part of) what they’re for.

    Ha ha ha…there was a med student who asked permission to scrub in and watch my procedure, and I told her sure, as long as she promised she’d make sure everyone ELSE washed their hands well, too!. The drugs are keeping the pain mostly at bay, but my mood is decidedly good, regardless!

  4. rest and pet the purrinator a lot. eat healthfully and give badum treats. then rest some more. spoil yourself a lot in this time.

  5. Your good mood inspires me.
    I’m pleased that all went well. I figured it would. Here’s hoping for a recovery that’s as quick and devoid of drama.

    I like your plan, Jav, esp. the part about “devoid of drama”! So far, so good.

  6. Glad you are well improving. I just want to cuddle up with you! Well. . . .

    I AM glad you’re doing better.

    Aww, thanks Joebear. You’d have to fight My Purry Pal Who’s Fun to Be With for the prime cuddling real estate – he’s been thrilled to have me home, laying around like I was a fellow feline today. But I appreciate the idea…

  7. I hope you got some fun pills to help with the recovery. Feel better.

  8. Sorry I missed this coming up! I’ve been behind in reading blogs.

    I’m glad things went well! Hope you’re feeling 100% soon! *hugs*

    Thanks, Jess – I’m coming along pretty well. Know what you mean about the blog reading… : )

Leave a Reply

