One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

B-Pansies

B-Sky-1

B-Hydrangea

B-Lacecap-Hy

B-Swirls

B-Hydrangeas-1

B-Convolvulus

B-Chicory

B-Rock-Harbor

Comments on: "‘Cause There Ain’t No Cure…" (9)

  1. gorgeous shades of blues!!! i especially like the pansies. actually, i especially like pansies, period. :D

  2. Wow! That blue and yellow flower—petunia?—just pops off the screen! Who says summertime blue is depressing?

    The flower you mention isn’t a petunia, but I think the bush version of the morning glory. I’d never seen one outside a catalog before. Consider this a preview of my upcoming post about Provincetown gardens! ; )

  3. “I don’t need no cure…”

  4. Oh, the hydrangeas! I do adore the hydrangeas. And that trumpet flower looks suspiciously Morning Glory-like to me. That’s another of my favorites, as I think you know. Beautiful blues, my gardener friend.

  5. Your pictures & garden are lovely as always…
    I love hydrangeas myself & by coincidence, I posted about them today also:
    http://nopoboho.blogspot.com/2009/07/reflections-on-my-garden-in-summer.html

  6. Stellar, as always. You know how to compose a shot and a post! xoxo

    Thanks, Bokey!

  7. Those are my favorite shades of blue!

  8. The hydrangeas are beautiful! Do you dry them? My grandmother use to dip them in food coloring I think?

    Rick, I imagine letting them soak up food coloring tinted water would deepen their colors for later drying. I’ll have to try that sometime. Dried flowers can be lovely, but I haven’t experimented with such things much yet.

  9. I’ll just let these blue’s run their course. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

