One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Pink-Sweet-Pea

So, the Garden.  The big news this week is that the sweet peas are blooming!   The seeds, you may recall, were planted in tiny peat pots way back in February.  There were two dozen of them.  Of those, about half germinated.  And from those, five survived, which were potted up in this pot here.

Sweet-Peas-climbing

Last week I had to go on a bit of a walk-about to find some new sticks to add to the pot, as I realized that the vines were now climbing higher than there were sticks to cling to.   Since I like to keep the pot somewhat mobile, especially with the porch project still pending, I wanted to keep the vines’ tendrils from reaching out and grabbing hold of something I couldn’t easily move around with it.

The first blossoms were white…three of them, and then this morning, a pink one.   The fragrance is lovely, a little sweeter than I’d remembered even.  I cut this bunch to bring inside, since cutting is supposed to keep them blooming.   I hope we’re in for a nice long cycle of blooming on these guys.

In other climbing vine news, the morning glories have continued to put out an occasional flower, and the recent bit of summery weather we  had seems to be encouraging them to begin climbing up the sticks in their planter.    I also reseeded a number of the Heavenly Blue morning glories, and I think I see some of them coming up.   I had an unexpected surprise recently, when my Facebook Gardening Friend Theresa wrote from Alabama to say she was sending me some seeds from her red columbine…and then also tucked in a bag full of cardinal climber seeds.  I’ve planted some of those with the morning glories and they seem to have sprouted as well (and right quickly, at that:  stand back, everyone) and I hope they will all be twining together ‘ere long.

The weather for the holiday weekend was stellar, the sun bright and warm during the day, but with steady breezes keeping temperatures reasonable and bugs at bay.  Of course, it doesn’t take much of nice weather like that to remind that you need to keep up with watering the container gardens that the endless rain was keeping wet.   Fortunately, I had minimal wilting before learning that lesson.    The rain was becoming too much of a good thing and flowers were melting right off the plants.

Butterfly

I’m happy to say it didn’t take much sunshine to encourage everything to start blooming anew.   Oh, and how the pollinators frolic from plant to plant in the sunshine.   I found the garden outside my bank a-flutter and a-buzz with them when I stopped by at the start of the weekend.   I believe this is catmint or perhaps some kind of sage that this white butterfly is enjoying so.   And the bee is on a purple coneflower.   I’ve got a couple of those in the driveway garden, though they won’t be in full bloom for another week or so, looks like.

Coneflower-Bee

If it seems like I’m not posting as much lately as I might be, there is a reason for that I’ve not shared with you.

Cat-Guard

It turns out that The Walkin’ Cat has decided he rather likes going out on explorations and adventures on the harness…and now clamors for it, loudly and insistantly, on a very regular basis.  It’s sort of funny.   If it has been five minutes since we’ve come in, then we are long overdue to go out again, he feels.

I may have created a monster.   But if you could see him out there stalking through the grass, getting his inner panther on, that long tail lashing about behind him.  I’ll have to try to capture the scene for you soon, he’s quite a riot.   Walking with him is not the strenuous ordeal that walking Emily used to be, though.   With Badum, it’s sort of a Thinking Man’s game.   There’s lots of free time standing around, whilst he munches on various kinds of grass.

Here he is blocking my getting out the front door without him.   Silly kitty.

It turns out the snapdragons I bought this year were actually a double-flowered variety and so they have been something of a surprise to behold.   There’s also a red one blooming nicely in the backyard, which I’ve failed to photograph well just yet.

Peach-Double-Snap

I’m sorry to say that one doesn’t have the strong, sweet fragrance that I’ve come to enjoy so in regular red rocket snapdragons, which smell so much like Cherry Kool-Aid.   There might be a hint of it, though, or else I have an active imagination (which has actually been confirmed).

Rudbeckia

Marthas-Moment

Daisy

Not far from the peach snapdragon in the driveway garden,  a little sunlight (and a bit more rain) have brought the rudbeckia into blooming and the shasta daisies and moonbeam coreopsis are quickly following suit.     I don’t seem to be seeing too much response from the lilies I planted this spring.   I think there might be an oriental lily (Casa Blanca) still to be seen this year, but we’ll see.

Beebalm-Begins

The Rains of Junes were good for the perennials, it seems and everything on that front is full and tall and green and blooming (or preparing to, as with this red Jacob Kline Beebalm, aka, monarda).   The annuals are not always faring so well.   It’s interesting.  The ones in containers, like up on my deck or on the side stoop downstairs, are doing very nicely…but the ones who’ve been planted right in the ground seem to have  been the victim of assorted anonymous chewing bugs, whose damage went unseen during the longer rainy patches.  Ah, well.   There’s plenty of beautiful things going on.

The zinnias I grew from seed are also starting to bloom and I’ve just spied the first flower buds on last year’s fuschia plant, which I managed to overwinter in a southern window of the next.   Photos of both of those coming soon.

As I was preparing to head out to the laundromat this evening, I spied a tiny bit of moving green on one of my buttondown shirts and discovered what I believe to be a tiny (about half an inch, not counting monster antennae) katydid nymph.   I ignored the common meaning of such a name (nymph, which in this case means nascent, you gutter dwellers) in wondering how it found my bedroom and carefully got it onto my finger and out onto the porch, where I relocated it on one of the newly-blooming nasturtiums.   Pretty, eh?

Nasturtium-with-Nymph

And I’ll leave you this time with a little tussy-mussy I made of the blooming sweet peas and a few pansies.  Perfect for a tiny shelf in the Nest where a kitty can’t get it, and also perfect for offering online birthday greetings to one of my favorite fellow bloggers.   Hope you had a sweet day, Patrick!

Birthday-Tussy-mussy

Comments on: "Early July Garden Report" (4)

  1. dutchess loves going out and (as you so beautifully put it) getting her inner panther on. she’s all for going for a walk so long as she’s leading. otherwise she’s attached to a very long string that allows her to get around to most of the front yard. the catch is that we have to be outside with her to make sure that she comes to no harm, being declawed and all.

  2. Your pics & your garden are lovely… really nice to be able to see your work. I remain a fan of your blog.

  3. We must see pictures of The Walkin’ Cat!

  4. I was lulled into a peaceful calm until that last sentence. I missed Patrick’s birthday? Gotta go wish him a belated happy one!

Leave a Reply

