One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Rainy-Morning-Glory

With a sigh, we tell you that it’s raining again on Cape Cod this morning.

We did have a few days of sunshine (and on Saturday even enough heat, finally, to break the fan out of the closet) and I’ll get to that in a moment, but with that day and a half of nice weather, that brings our total of sunny days this June to about seven.   The roses are developing blackspot.   Lots of other things, owing to the nice spring that preceded Rainy June, are blooming a little early (and thanks to the rain, sort of briefly).

I try to remain upbeat and positive about this – all the cruddy weather is giving me plenty of opportunities to continue on doing stuff inside the Nest, which is kind of fun.   But I wouldn’t mind a little more time for walking or biking…and I’ve abbreviated some of my gardening plans thanks to the nearly-perpetual rain.    Still, perspective is key, and I am (for now) safely away from the shoreline of the Atlantic, which was pretty well ravaged by last week’s nor’easter.   And we aren’t the only ones to have been impacted by the storminess and the rains.

Of course its hardly all doom and gloom.   The catawba (AKA,  catalpa) tree in the backyard has come into bloom this weekend.   I’ll try to get you a better photo of the blooms, which are sort of distinctive and orchid-like.   I may need a step-ladder, though.

Catawba

Pink-Cosmos

White-Pansy

Meanwhile, as I mentioned, the sun has shone recently and we enjoyed it as much as we could in the limited time it was with us.   There was time to deadhead all the pansies and marigolds and things which had become sodden and melty-looking…and also time for some fresh blossoms to open up in the warm golden light.   The pollinators couldn’t have looked happier in the morning sunshine, flitting about the deck as they moved from planter to planter, collecting the best of each blossom.  In other news, it appears that the baby robins from under the deck have fledged and are gone.  Oh, how quickly we grow up!

Evolvulus

Oh, one correction I need to offer.   Last week, when I wrote of potting up a red, white and blue arrangement in advance of next week’s July Fourth celebrations, I referred to the blue component as convolvulus, which is wrong.  I believe that’s actually the name for morning glories.   What I actually planted – and I want to be clear on this, since it’s a fantastic little annual for container planting – is Evolvulus Glomeratus.   Since I planted it, it’s begun to bloom a little.   Here’s one of it’s pretty blue flowers, to help convince you that you really ought to pick one up for your garden.

I don’t have too much else to say this morning.   In lieu of any Pride Celebrations (I was glad to hear NYC’s were not rained out this weekend, a minor miracle.   BTW, have you read this?), I’ll leave you with the rainbow of flowers we enjoyed during our all-too-brief, but delightful flirtation with the Sun.

First-Nasturtium

Pansy-Bumble

Marine-Heliotrope-with-Bee

Orange-Calendula

Lavendar-Hydrangea

Pink-Hydrangea-with-Shell

Helianthus

Wed-Woses-How-Womantic

Asiatic-Lilies-with-Hydrang

Cosmos-with-MDaisies

Cloudy-Sunset-Bay

Comments on: "Late June Garden Report" (6)

  1. I love looking at your photos.

    Thanks, John Michael!

  2. ship some of your rain this way. we’re at near (if not already there) drought conditions. we just finished the driest spring for a very long time and thus far summer hasn’t boded well for moisture either. we had one day of rain with some sprinkling since. that’s it.

    Wow. Once again proving it’s always a matter of perspective!

  3. adkchrisshaw said:

    Beautiful shots! I’ve gotta get some pointers from you on macro photography!!!!!! I’m just back from the Dacks with the boys, let’s chat online and catch up!

    Loved your fly fishing shots, Chris! Looks like you Shaw guys had a great time in the mountains! Out on a schooner this afternoon, m’self. Consider this your coming attractions notice here at the blog!

  4. Such a beautiful display of flowers. The first photo of the bee looks like he’s on a glass flower. The photo of the daylilies reminds me of a flower that I saw in the State Park that resembles a daylily, but when you look “inside” the flower, you notice that the petals are each attached by a stem to the stamen, providing voids of space when you look in. I’ll e-mail you a photo. The catalpas have blossomed here as well and they provide quite a showing, almost overshadowing the green leaves of the trees. Your title to this entry boggles my mind that it is already July tomorrow. Summer is almost gone….snow will be falling shortly. :-)

    And summer’s barely teased us here so far, Steven.

  5. So June Gloom hits Cape Cod as well? The catalpa is a cool tree. I’d love to see some closeups, but be careful on that ladder… We have related genus, Chilopsis, that grows in our desert and has sometimes been hybridized with catalpa. I saw some of our cousins blooming a few weekends ago. The flowers look so exotic for a plant that grows in such a challenging environment.

    Your yellow bees are cool too. Perfect accessories for blue and purple flowers.

    June Gloom, indeed. I’ve heard this has been the second least-sunny June (with only 32% of the sun’s potential rays) since 1903 (when they had only 25%)! I’ll see about climbing onto the picnic table or something to get those catalpa blossoms. They look quite fancy at a distance and think they’ll be stunning in close-up.

    You’d think I added those bees to the flowers for their complementary tones, eh?

  6. ..love your macro-shots Greg..I have also taken to using macro in my garden as well, ( and everyones else’s who doesn’t mind ). I can’t believe its July and I still haven’t transplanted my sweet-peas and morning-glories. So much rain here…( too much computer time )
    glad to see your a friend of our very beneficial bees :)

Leave a Reply

