One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Wonderful World

DA-Yellow

“The world is a rose; smell it and pass it to a friend.” 

Persian proverb.

Gypsy-Princess

Dianthus

New-Pine-Cones

Kousa-Dogwood-flowers

Blue-Siberian-Iris

Wild-Roses

GP-Close

Comments on: "Wonderful World" (9)

  1. I love that quote! and what a gorgeous garden you must have.

    Your Royal Troutship, it’s time I confessed: these are not all pictures from the garden at my home. Some are from the restaurant gardens (although I’ve planted a few things there, too) and others found in miscellaneous spots around the Vicinity. So the truth is, Your Fishyness, the world is my Midnight Garden.

    I liked the quote, too, and it seemed especially appropos in light of today’s elections in Iran.

  2. Beautiful shots…thanks. I have that white dogwood… it is so amazing right now.
    Thanks!

    That dogwood is located in the garden where I work. It’s just starting its show, which continues throughout the summer as it develops what I think of as little red ‘crunchberries’.

  3. fruit and ornamental fruit trees and lilacs are blooming here. the tulips are done and the irises are getting ready to bloom. the trees are pollinating each other and allergies are rife.

    it’s not been a warm spring as yet, but i don’t mind. it’s green outside.

    Glad that spring, even a tepid one, has found you in your northern climes! I trust the landlord’s peonies aren’t devilling you anymore! ;)

  4. That’s something wonderful to look at indeed. And a gorgeous garden can exists in mind and in reality, both may be beautiful.

  5. Love the flowers! We have a pink variety of the multiflora rose that you have in this post.

    Charles, I believe the white multiflora – which grows wild around here – is propagated by birds who eat the seeds/hips of the pink variety, which are then scattered everywhere and revert back to the original white rootstock, which is sort of weedlike. It’s classified as invasive hereabouts, but with that scent, what sweet invasion, indeed!

  6. Oh, the iris and the rose are both STUNNING, I like to think I can smell the scented flowers from here. Thanks for the bouquet!

  7. The rose is gorgeous. And there’s that champaign iris again! Thanks for the infusion of beauty, dear Midnight Gardener.

  8. I couldn’t argue with you even if I wanted too. Multiflora rose is very sweetly scented. It’s the only reason that I think my parent’s keep it around.

  9. I love the flowers of all kind
    i am a gardener by hobby
    i prefer roses too

Leave a Reply

