One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Purple-Iris

First-Daylilies

Weigela

Spiderwort

Comments on: "Just Because Its June" (5)

  1. Hey Greg Haven’t commented for awhile, but have still been lurking! Did you get a new camera? Your closeup shots of the flowers just get better and better. Love ’em! Once again, you’ve made me a bit homesick for the Cape…It’s already summer here…hot, rainy and more hot. Very few flowers can handle the blazing sun one day and torrential downpours the next. Oh well, at least I can enjoy some real beauties on your blog! Thanks! *elaine*

    Hi Elaine! I’m neither wise nor smaht about the blog’s tracking software, so I’m always happy when you delurk to say “hey”! The newest camera (the only one, actually) and I have been together since August, so we are starting to get to know a few tricks about one another and I’m glad to hear you’re noticing in improved quality pics. We sure are having fun together. ;)

    Those sound like dramatic conditions. Do succulent plants do well where you are?

  2. So many beautiful flowers/pictures. I love all the Iris pics since I never see any here in my area. The dianthus my grandmother and mother used to call “pinks” and would have huge planters over flowing with them. I understand about the bird singing at night. Sometimes I hear one as well. Sad but entertaining as well. At least not screeching like the hundreds of Grackles in the trees at area shopping centers.

    I have a new iris to share with you, once I finally get some new pictures posted. And we do have the grackles, red-wing blackbirds and cowbirds to give us that lovely bird cacophony sometimes…so I understand that, too!

  3. Beautiful close-ups that you have captured here, Greg. The yellow daylilies really have a nice “punch.”

  4. We have Northern Flickers now… what a racket they make! Do you have those too?

    We do see a flicker here every now and then and I _have_ heard the racket they make banging on the sides of homes as they try to attract the attention of their beloveds. Beautiful birds. Good luck!

  5. Beautiful! Are those Wiegela (sp) (the red ones?)

    We have a flowering bush in the back yard.

    Good eye, there, Butch! Weigela (however it’s spelled) indeed!

Leave a Reply

