One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

June June June

Happy-Trio

Orange-Gazania

Petunias

Pale-Iris

Pink-Dianthus

Hot-Peony

Pink-Rose

Comments on: "June June June" (5)

  1. Greg, could those be…raindrops on roses? (If I can’t sleep because I now have Sound of Music tunes going through my head I could think of worse things.) But rain on a gazania would just seem wrong, and it looks like you’ve managed to finagle some sun for that portrait. Very perky.

    There really IS no better month for showtunes!

  2. Roses already? Lucky. Not here yet. Do you think Charles would identify my snake from Boyo’s adventure (album on FB)? It was pretty creepy.

    Roses, indeed – it’s June, after all!

    I’ll have to check out Boyo’s adventures and see about sending a picture on to Charles. No guarantees, of course…but you never know! (I LOVE when the internet brings us all closer together!)

  3. Salina Inzaghi said:

    reminds of the sweet-smelling roses in full bloom underneath my bedroom window once upon a time during my student days *sigh*

    : ) One of my favorite things about gardens and plants is the way the sight of a particular blossom, or even the barest whiff of a flower’s fragrance on the breeze may transport one to another time and place.

  4. I love the dianthus! Actually, I like them all.

  5. Alas, my June has not been nearly as colorful as years. Because it snowed so late into Spring, after the trees and flowers had started to bud, we lost many flowers. Hence, my walks with Duncan have not been as bright and gay as past Spring walks. Colorado has, however, exploded in green.

    I hope your snow is now to be held at bay for a few months. Meanwhile, I’m glad to have provided you something colorful and gay to feast your eyes upon!

Leave a Reply

