One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

An Earth Day Walk

tulip-morning

daffodil-ribbons

flowering-quince

forsythia-hedge

grape-hyacinths

money-plant

jonquil-art

bayside-trees

breakwater

bayside-clouds

many-daffs

daffodil-cedars

Comments on: "An Earth Day Walk" (11)

  1. Looks like your corner of Earth is waking up with a blooming bang!
    Happy Earth Day

  2. gosh…love your natural garden
    wish i had one like yours

  3. A host of golden daffodils! How gorgeous to tune in and find all these lovely, fragrant gifts. (Earth Day is my birthday). The shot of the garden fence is poster stuff, Greg. Beautiful.

    Happy Birthday, Joe!!

  4. Hey! What is the purple flower called? Wait. When I clicked on comments, the pics disappeared but their titles showed. Huh. They must be purple hyacinths.

    My favorite pic of this bunch is the rocks and water. Something about the colors just grab me.

    The blue flowers in pic #5 are grape hyacinths. Right after that, the four-petaled purple flower were the first blossoms on a money plant (which you might recall from last year are named for their coin-shaped seedpods).

    I was particularly fond of the color of the water that morning and thrilled that it read so clearly for a change in my photos.

  5. I love the perspective you take your photos from!

  6. Wow spring comes so much sooner where you are. We’re at T minus two weeks for tulips.

  7. You have a great patch of earth to celebrate for Earth Day. I hope you’re doing great, Greg.

    I’m glad you provided the clarification on the money plant. It’s not one I know, and it has an informal wildness to it that I like.

    The clarity of the water in that closeup is striking. Our water here has more…stuff in it. Sorry for being so technical. Actually I’m not sure I want to know what makes it so thick.

    And the photo of the evergreens with the tall brown grasses with the ocean behind is moody. The foreground patches of green say “spring,” but it’s still all about transition from one thing into something else. But that something else seems slow in coming…

  8. The quality of light shown in these photos may be one of my favorites. The contrast between light and dark is sharp, but the boundaries between are softened and blurred. Love the ant’s eye view of the grape hyacinths. You knew I’d notice that, didn’t you. Happy Spring, Dear Greg.

  9. I had a nice Earth Day walk. The NCR trail was pretty crowded, but I got to see a lot of cute dogs. Almost everyone was walking little dogs on the trail that day. :)

  10. Beautiful pictures. You’re having a lush spring it appears. I can almost smell the hyacinths.

  11. Wow Greg you never cease to amaze me with your photography…not too mention your garden….Just brilliant!

Leave a Reply

