One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Buzz

fence-colony-1

crocus-drifts

crocus-bee-1

crocuses-2

crocus-bee

crocus-bee-2

honeybee-flight

Comments on: "Buzz" (13)

  1. That next to last photo is interesting. Look at the pollen on the bees leg! No wonder my allergies are kicking up.

  2. beautiful image of the new season

  3. I really like these pictures! :)

  4. Love the crocus, just wish it was warm enough here to have bees out.

    Charles, it was only about 38 degrees when I found all these bees in the crocuses. I was a little surprised, but mostly impressed with their fortitude.

  5. It’s wonderful, I like spring in spite of my hay fever.

  6. That’s such a nice series of images. I love the way that people on the Cape often grow big drifts of crocus in their lawns. I’ve attempted the same in my lawn in Chicago. It reminds me of childhood travels along Route 6A at about this time of year.

  7. birdoparadise said:

    Wow! Every one of those photos is frame-worthy. It’s raining here today, but better weather is on its way. I need to get out.

  8. Great capture on those crocuses. I love the way the sunlight plays with each petal providing different shades. And a clear shot of the bee!

  9. What a great patch of crocus. The bees certainly are enjoying themselves.

  10. rethoryke said:

    Yay, Bees!

  11. So many crocuses! I love this particular variety – Firefly. Looks like so many butterflies commemorating to celebrate spring. Great photos, Greg!

  12. Well, Greg, it looks like we’re not the only species that likes the crocuses! I’m almost tempted to put in more lawn so that I can plant those little bulbs in it. With out longer growing season it might a challenge to time the mowing with the blooming, though. Is it usually later in the year when people start mowing where you are?

    I imagine it will still be a couple of weeks before mowing is necessary around here, but which time these snow crocuses will be long gone. Sometimes, it’s necessary to mow around the remaining foliage from the later crocus varieties, but it times out fairly well most of the time, assuming one is a thoughtful and considerate mower, of course.

  13. Nice honey bee. We never see feral honey bees in Connecticut (You may encounter honey bees if you are near an orchard where they rent hives or raise domestic bees for pollination). It saddens me that honey bees have become extinct here. We truly need to protect our delicate natural world.

Leave a Reply

