One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Spring’s First Weekend

purple-crocuses

Spring’s arrival, as is our Cape Cod tradition, has been a bit chilly.  The sun is bright and golden, and the bright easter egg colors of the crocuses draw us to windows and tempt us out of doors.  Our temperatures for the first weekend of this new season did start to moderate, taking us into the high forties and teasing us about things to come.

snow-crocus-in-thyme

All the season’s joys aren’t flowers, though.  On Sunday, my pal Heather made a roadtrip to visit me and check out the Nest and such.  I was sorry not to be able to offer a sunnier day for our visit, as I think we were both in the mood for more outdoor explorations.  But we have the whole year ahead of us yet and we enjoyed the chance to just hang out and chat about this and that.  After brunch, we drove to Nauset Beach to get a look at the ocean, which was kicking up a bit of surf on Sunday.

gulls-angry-surf

into-the-surf

behind-their-backs2

big-deal

That was fun for a while and there was quite a crowd of people there, perhaps many of them drawn by some subconcious feeling that it was Spring.  Maybe driven by that sea-salty tang in the aire which had teased me a few days earlier.

shoreline-strata

It may’ve just been the high surf and the many eager surfers who were attracting crowds, as well.   We enjoyed the show for a while, but it felt a little chilly for a long ramble at the shoreline, so after a few photos, we headed back to the Nest, stopping at Rock Harbor, where I was enticed by this underwater shoreline strata that reminded me of a tree’s rings.

While we were talking, we were both taking pictures and I’m afraid as I snapped the one below, I let a sort of groaner pun escape my lips.  I really was thinking of Beatles’ album covers when I suggested the below might be a great image if the boulders pictured ever decided to put out a rock album.  (I do apologize, but this was an unintentional, organic moment, not at all set-up like the painful “chrome for the hollandaise” business of months past.)

Anyway, after that we retired to the Nest for some  hot beverages, and some laughs as we passed the rest of the afternoon playing Yahtzee with the Cahtzee.

rock-groupWe finished off the afternoon with one of my now-standard walks to the bay and back, which was fun.  I always enjoy it, but I do like sharing the walk even more.   We didn’t really explore along the bay much, as our interest was curtailed by the first splats of cold rain and we made good time on the return to the Nest.  Unfortunately, the day had fled all too quickly and the time for Heather to leave what she refers to as “the Florida of Massachusetts” to return to her own side of the bridge.

It was great to have a visit and I look forward to doing it again soon.  I think she left just in time, though:   within an hour of Heather’s departure, the air was full of snow flurries and our temperature plummeted to the mid-twenties.  Ah, spring.

sunday-sunset

Comments on: "Spring’s First Weekend" (4)

  1. “The Florida of Massachusetts.” I love it! Cold, yes, but still sand and breezes and sunsets. I gotta say, though, that those surfers are out of their minds. No wet suit can keep me warm enough in that water.

  2. I, too, think “the Florida of Massachusetts” is fantastic!

    Those little crocuses are adorable. I’m not even sure crocuses grow around here.

    Glad you had a good visit with a friend. Friends are always a good idea. :)

  3. You gotta hand it to those surfers. Neither rain nor sleet (not that we have any of that stuff, whatever it is) seems to keep our surfers out of the ocean. Only flat water will deter them.

    It looks like fun, yes, but Yahtzee with the Cahtzee looks much more my speed. Glad you had a great day, Greg!

  4. Geez what is the water temp now? Those are some hard core surfers.

    I am happy to tell you I have no personal experience to share with you regarding the current/recent water temperature. But I just tracked down a composite surface temperature map for last Sunday and it appears they were surfing in a temperature somewhere between 36 and 39 degrees Fahrenheit. So yah, hardcore for sure. C-c-c-c-cowabunga, d-d-dude.

Leave a Reply

