One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Hope Springs

daffodilsAnd so, with some sunshine, little fanfare and a temperature of only 33 degrees, Winter stepped aside yesterday afternoon to let pretty little Spring take the stage.

morning-glories

The newly-minted growing season has been making itself known inside here at the Nest for sometime, though.  I hope by the middle of next week, I will have a host of these larger morning glory seedlings repotted into the growing container where they will live out the summer.  I see the first true leaves are about to form, so they will be wanting to climb on some of the deadfall branches I collected from the woods on St. Patty’s Day pretty soon.

Once I’ve gotten them moved out of the seed greenhouse, I’ve recently recalled that I have some seeds sent my way by Butch last fall, from those beautiful blue columbines of his.  I should’ve started these first and probably earlier in the winter, even.   But those seeds arrived back in the fall, one of the first pieces of mail to arrive after moving in here, and I’ve only recently uncovered the “safe place” where I had them stored.

No worries, though, I can think of a number of places where I think they will do quite nicely hereabouts.

There’s also that trio of clementine seedlings who’ll be wanting little pots of their own (Virginia Woolf would be so proud.) very shortly, too.

clementines

sweet-peasI’m happy to say, what with all the morning glories who’re needing attention, that the sweet pea seeds have been a little more reasonable and considerate in their growing, and thus far, only these three have sprung.   I’m sure that’s only the start of course.  I expect that long before it’s warm enough to plant things outside, I will have every square inch of window pane filled with little seedpots.

purple-pansy

To welcome the season, and also to continue the business of making the Nest into a proper home, I went off on a little safari yesterday, to some unfinished wood product stores here on the Cape I’m fond of.   I’ve gotten shelves there before and this time, was looking for picnic-style benches for my dining room table, figuring that they have a narrow enough profile to work well in the limited space and also to accomodate more than one butt for those theoretical impromptu dinner parties.

I’m a little disappointed that those were not yet available, as I had been told to expect they would be by this point in the spring, but I’ve left a note with them now, so I should receive word whenever they are actually available to me.   However, it was not a lost roadtrip, as I discovered a nursery which had some hearty flats of PANSIES (!!!!!) offered for sale.   I resisted the temptation to buy flats and flats of them.

They are hearty enough to be planted outdoors now, which would satisfy some of that early-season craving to get out there and dig.  But let’s be honest, if I planted all the pansies I wanted, there wouldn’t be room for any of the other flowers I love later in the season.

I’ve little else to prattle on about (*aside from the annual business of twitterpation just beginning to take hold) so come, join me in delighting in the cheery little faces of some bright new members of my garden family.

blue-and-lavendar-pansies

lavendar-pansy

blue-pansyHappy Spring, everyone!

Comments on: "Hope Springs" (8)

  1. What a beautiful Spring post!! I love your nascent garden on the windowsills there. I’m eager for morning glories, of course. Which reminds me, I need to find that seed packet and start a few of my own. I have a piece of fence that is perfect for them.

    I seem to recall great discussions about that bit of fence you have in mind for glorifying! Can’t wait to see some pictures. Hope your Saturday’s going well…

  2. Hi Greg, nice post, I’m still a bit flashing red (like a little schoolgirl) from your comment at butchsbanter, thanks to you both. Have a great weekend.

    I enjoyed that Aurelius quote, to be clear! Hope you’re having a great weekend, too, my friend.

  3. Happy Spring right back!

  4. I think the pictures of flowers are beautiful! :)

  5. Great post! I love watching your seedlings grow.

  6. Ah! Finally Spring’s arrived! I can see it’s beautiful smile in your cheery little seedlings. Aaah! The morning glory seedling reminds me of my once glorious dame [sniff]. I hope your grows so beautiful as mine did. Happy Spring!

  7. byrningbunny said:

    Hi, just found you on blogcatalog. I would love some of your growing greenery, but the cats always eat any seedlings we start :). We are still under feet of snowing and it’s snowing as I write, so it’s still a little early for starts anyway.

    I enjoyed the pix too.

    Hi there. Glad to be discovered. I guess I’m pretty lucky with my Gray Pal of Purr, as his chewing is largely confined to his own pot of cat grass, and the occasional nibbled spider plant.

  8. Cool pansies. Pretty but so forgiving. I didn’t plant any this year, but they self-sow a bit, so I have a few here and there to remind me of what things looked like when John planted a hundred of them in the new garden space before things started to fill in…

    A picnic bench in the dining area sounds like a great idea for those days when you can’t picnic outdoors. I hope the one you want gets in soon. Share pictures!

Leave a Reply

