One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

sham-rock

snow-crocuses-purple-gold

rock-harbor

purple-irises1

treetop

snow-crocuses-of-gold

catkins

kitty-sleep2

purple-primrose

Comments on: "On Saint Patrick’s Day" (8)

  1. Happy St. Pats to you, Greg. Looks like you had some sun to celebrate. Gray and fuzzy looks great on Badum, but I think you’ve had enough of it [outdoors] for a while. Get your tan on!

  2. (I hate it when I forget some words…) In the comment: add the word “outdoors” to “…enough of it for a while.” One can never have too much of The Cat.

  3. It looks like you’re farther along in Spring than we are, which seems counter to expectation. I have managed to find some crocuses, daffodils and snowdrops blooming though. I can hardly take how cute that cat is, it’s as if he poses on purpose. I’m missing my cuddly friend this week, but the resident cat at least comes and flirts with me now, hoping I’ll break out the feathers-on-a-fishing-line toy. She can’t get enough of that. Even I am rather taken with the way it flutters in motion.

    I’d say our coastal locations probably have us in similar places on the spring spectrum. I expect you’ll quickly overtake us, though, since things traditionally stay cooler here a little longer than more sheltered places (or in your case, places with great heat sinks of pavement).

    I wouldn’t be surprised to know that you are seeing the larger crocuses there, while these are the earlier snow crocus varieties. (I did see ONE of those larger later crocuses yesterday…purple, no less…but sadly, it was in shade too deep to make a good photo.)

    Yes, I have often suspected that my gray buddy is adorable on purpose. He just oozes Teh Cute, which means he pretty much gets whatever he wants, provided he can make me understand what that might be.

    I imagine it must be hard for a kitty to play with that feather toy with you also batting at it! ; )

  4. Honey, if you could bottle and sell that “cute” of Badum’s, you’d be a wealthy man. Does his fur really look so much like rich velvet in person? He’s beautiful and cute. What a combo.

    Hey, no ice in the harbor (or wherever that water is)! Looks springish to me.

    He is definitely pretty soft and snuggly and I often cannot resist petting him, all indications of the velvety similarity. I have, however, never known stray bits of velvet to clump up in corners of a room. ; )

    You’re absolutely right…that’s Rock Harbor, and n’ary a sliver of tidal ice to be seen. I did see one small and dirty clump of snow in the shade somewhere, but the harbor is clear. For now, at least.

  5. Nice to see colorful photos after long, Greg. I love your crocuses.

  6. From pussy willow to pussy wallow. Both are gorgeous. Spring has sprung, finally. Buds are emerging around here but little else. Then it will explode in color. Soon I will go back to my Sunday garden at the art center, and maybe new blooms will greet me.

    Hee. Tickled you got that relation! I was happy to visit an Indiana garden blogger’s site the other day and see all the same flowers bursting out in your part of the world. Enjoy – we’ve certainly earned Spring this year!

  7. “Spring has sprung, the sap is ris
    I wonder where the flowers is.”

    We’re into spring down here, and it is so welcome.
    Cheers!

  8. Beautiful pictures as always. Real pussy willow huh? I’ve never seen such. I thought those were pancakes in the top photo. You can see where my mind is this morning. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

