One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

morning-starshine

What a treat Friday morning was!   Already we were hearing stories of the wintery blast that was going to be coming for us in waves throughout the weekend, so when the cardinal song awoke me and I found that the forecasted fifty degrees for the day was well on its way to being a reality, I was pretty quick to take advantage of the conditions.

cardinal-sings

First order was to turn down the heat and open up some windows and let a bit of fresh air (and all that delightful bird song) waft through the apartment.   You can be sure that my Gray Companion was quick to discover the open windows and happily squeezed himself onto narrow window sills for a bit of sniffing and bird watching.

For my part, I’d been jonesing for a walk out there in the world, but the recent Head Cold of Doom had combined with some chilly temperatures and I just hadn’t been able to talk myself into it.  So here was a morning I could sink my teeth into…and without needing half a dozen layers of clothing to keep me properly warm, either!

Sunshine and warmth and birdsong were the signs of spring here.   Except for a few daffodils beginning to poke up through the ground here and there around town, I haven’t seen any flowers out there yet.  But birds and sun were more than enough for me.   I don’t have much else to say about the walk, except it was pretty wonderful (and much faster going without all that snow and ice on the ground).

I’ll let the photos speak for me.

barn-trees

grass-and-moss

winter-marsh

rock-creek

mussel-shell

singing-sparrow

dyer-prince-rock

high-tide-frost

lichens

gaggle

robin

Comments on: "February’s Farewell Promises" (4)

  1. I can see spring starting to break through but not fast enough for me.

  2. Oh my, it will be at least 6 weeks until I will see a robin! That will be something to see… long winter this year!

  3. Is that a ROBIN??? OMG, harbinger of spring if I ever saw one. Pay no attention to the ice and snow outside your window now. Spring is coming!! Glad you had a good walk Friday.

    Java…and also Mel: I don’t believe that our robins have necessarily returned from their winter in southern climates. Here on the Cape, we see hundreds of robins all winter long…but they are the ones who’ve come south from the winter from their Canadian homes. They hang out here until the first signs of spring are visible at the Sticky Crows blog…and THEN they head home, just as ours return from down your neighborhood, Jav…

    Still, I just love them…and yah, it was a pretty nifty walk.

  4. Your season changes so rapidly! I am sure it was snowing not so long ago. Now it looks as though it never happened. Maybe I am just not in tune to the cold winters you have!

    Shaney, you’re not out of tune with it. We’re influenced a lot by the ocean temperatures here, so we get these occasional flare-ups of lovely weather now and then through the winter…with the more traditional-for-the-season cold weather in between. For example, it’s been cold and snowing or sleeting for much of the last 24 hours…yippee!

Leave a Reply

