One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Winter Dusk

winter-dusk-1

winter-dusk-21

winter-dusk-3

winter-dusk-4

Comments on: "Winter Dusk" (13)

  1. You take some *really* awesome pictures! :)

    Thanks, my friend! I can see why you might like this indigo series, especially.

    The sky didn’t seem quite so blue in real life, more gray than anything…but this is how the camera captured the image and in this case, I conceded it knew best.

  2. Great pictures but I’m sick of winter already. We’re in the snow/rain phase now which is fine with me so long as overnight temps don’t drop down too far.

  3. The photos look heavenly, Greg!

  4. THERE you are! I’m hoping your absence was due to having too good a time in Real Life. Dusk is my favorite time of day, when the air turns blue briefly. You captured it quite nicely.

    Hi Birdie! Well, not as much fun as you seem to be having, but yes, I’ve been letting other things draw me away from Teh Blogging. It’s only a seasonal thing, and in fact, I’ll be posting real sometime this weekend. : )

  5. A wise decision from your camera, it looks really great (maybe “Sleepy Hollow” meets the transcendent beauty of being blue) and a good decision from you to overcome your “February-laziness”, a quote.

  6. The color really sets the mood in those photos. Very nice!

  7. I got the Sleepy Hollow vibe, too… but after Johnny Depp had restored peace to the scene.

  8. Looks like a storm Greg, but love the colors in this…Amazing!

  9. It’s only been in the last few years that I have come to appreciate the beauty of naked trees. You have captured some of that beauty with these shots. The indigo background adds to the mystique.

  10. Beautiful pictures of a troubled sky. I love the blues and blacks in these pictures, very moody.

  11. That IS indigo, isn’t it. What a glorious color. I’ve been noticing and appreciating the skeletal beauty of winter trees in an entirely new way this year. Not sure why they have been catching my attention so (I think my camera has something to do with it), but they’ve been a delight to see. These are some especially nice shots.

  12. These people are all wrong, I don’t like those pictures, I think you could have done better. Got you! Did you think I turned into a bitchy gay guy? I think they are great, they would look nice as a large print hanging on a wall.

    Oh, Steven, that cold Canadian winter has changed you, my friend. But spring will be here soon to thaw that icy heart. ; )
    You know, I like this idea of yours. I do still have one wall to paint in that front bedroom…and a tree silhouette pattern might be just the ticket! Hmmmmm….

  13. Makes me think of Halloween.

Leave a Reply

