One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Oh, Christmas Tree, Baby…

rock-center-tree

flags-and-tree1

 By popular demand…and because of my own desire for another long, lingering look…I’ve gone  back into the flash drive full of photos from the weekend to pull out a few more pictures of that fabulous tree at Rockefeller Center.

Some of these didn’t quite make the first cut because of focus or other issues, but when I went back, I still found some value in a few of them…and they also left me free to play a little more with some developing techniques…particularly some of the more “arty” treatments…which seem to work very well with the subject at hand

And so, with no further adieu, once more I present to you, the 2008 Tree of Christmas.

tree-photography-art

most-beautiful

tree-lights1

rock-flags

radio-city-poster

Comments on: "Oh, Christmas Tree, Baby…" (6)

  1. Wow, that tree has a lot of lights on it.

    I’ve got to go through my neighborhood with the camera tomorrow night. Lots of houses lit up, one even decorated the bare branches of the small trees in front of their house.

    Haven’t even bothered to setup our tree because we go south in three days.

    Thirty thousand lights on it, in fact. Always love the Christmas lights and photography thereof! Enjoy!!

  2. Atta boy! You did listen to me. Thank you so much. Now can we site here for some more time? [puppy-faced] Ermm…. Okay… Okay… Don’t Give me that look. Move on…. I know time’s precious, but still… no nothing, go on… [Thinking to myself – Damn! Can’t we stare at this beauty at different angles? Now did the candy get over so soon? I thought I bought two pkts!]

    BTW, here’s a b’day gift for you Greg – http://inartliesmyheart.blogspot.com/2008/12/budgs-beauty.html

    Thanks for the birthday beauty, my friend! I’m glad to see your garden has survived recent hardships.

    And I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the Christmas tree as much as I…it certainly is another beauty! Feel free to stand and stare as long as you like!

  3. These pics are beautiful. Thank you, my dear friend, for introducing so much beauty into my computer and my life this year.

    Java, it’s been my great pleasure to do so! : )

  4. Those lights are truly beautiful. I understand you’ll be getting more bad weather this weekend. We have another weather storm cell coming in for this weekend as well only it will be pushed by a sixty mph wind. There will be the usual power outages. Tonight is going down to 14 degrees F. ( this is not the weather we usually experience in the NW. )

    Stay warm.

    Definitely staying warm here! I got my Christmas shopping finished as the first flakes began falling here yesterday afternoon and spent the night snuggled in, sorting and wrapping. Still snowing a bit this morning, but am about to head out for a look at it all from the ground level, whilst I wait for coffee to brew! Details later…

  5. Anyone can take pictures in focus, but cool and interesting ones, that’s an art! The multi-colored twinkly cloud of lights is my fave of them all. Can you imagine a New York December without electricity?

    I hope we won’t ever have to, James!

  6. Another great set of photos Greg that really bring out the season. I would not like to be the one whose office is where the spotlight for the star atop the tree is shining into in that first photo. ;-)

    It *was* after five when we visited, Steven, so the spotlight might not have been too troublesome. But I bet they have a heck of a party in that office!!

Leave a Reply

