One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Scenes From A Roadtrip

roadtrip-sunset

hartford-rush

roadside-treelightsSo, the trip to Connecticut was great, that’s the Hartford skyline there.

Thanksgiving was fun.  It was terrific to get away for a few days and to see everyone, and to do some laundry and generally get a change of scenery.  As always, the few days I had to spare went all to quickly and now I’ve already been back here on the Cape and at work for the last couple of days. 

But I found that I still had a memory card full of photos from the trip, a few of which I thought you might enjoy.

dewey-2

 

Here’s Mom and Dad’s furry buddy, Dewey Two.  We’re friends from way back and he came out to see me shortly after I arrived on Tuesday evening.  He remains a bit skittish though and the slightest bit of laughter or ring of the doorbell sends him running off to the cover of bedrooms.

In fact, except for some primarily late-night appearances, this is how Dewey appeared to me during most of my visit (the lump in the comforter is he).

 

kitty-lump

christmas-house

Here’s a Christmas House we spotted in Torrington.  It was actually in the same neighborhood as the Daffodil Bear.   I understand it’s decorated like this all year long.  I sort of wish we’d seen it at night, but I suppose that gives me something to look forward to when I’m back for Christmas week.

thanks-eve-sunset

cooper-cat

table-of-thanks1That cat there is my sister’s cat, Cooper…named for the newscaster Anderson.  This kitty is lithe and slick like his namesake, but not especially fond of being pet.  Still, he allowed me a few moments belly-rubbing, perhaps because he sensed I was missing my gray pal back at the Nest.

Here’s the flowers we used as centerpiece for our Table of Thanks.   It was a great looking table, as always. 

And the food, well…my favorite part was the turkey…and the sausage and apple stuffing…and the sweet potato crunch…and the potatoes…and turnips and green beans and pies…oh, my

The walls of the new dining room created a nice contrast and this is just one of the interesting deep colors with which Mom and Dad’s house had been previously painted. 

Most mystifying, perhaps, is that the previous owners generally painted the ceilings in the same dark tones.  It makes things a little cavelike, but also, this time of year, anyway, a little cozier.

Here’s a few snapshots of us just before dinner.  We were having a great time, though apparently I wasn’t able to stop laughing long enough to let you see that I have eyes.  And all this mirth was before the wine, too.

guests-1

guests-2

tree-clouds

wet-pine

Comments on: "Scenes From A Roadtrip" (6)

  1. Looks like you had a drippy Connecticut to deal with on your visit. We’ve been quite drippy here for the last two days, too. Your sister seems to have eyes when she laughs. You, obviously, don’t. Neither does my Aunt Judy. It is one of her charms. ;)

    Love all the cat pictures. I guess you were missing your gray buddy. Love the view of Dewey Two under the comforter. Our dog used to do that. How can they breathe under there?

    It was mostly the Trips Going and Coming Home that were drippy (especially after the lid of that coffee mug came free…). The two days in between the travel really were pretty nice, weather-wise.

  2. I can see you had a gala time at Connecticut. Nice to hear. Your sister’s cat looks so cuddly and cute. I’d be looking forward to that Christmas House pic at night!

    Coop does *look* cuddly, but that’s not really his thing. Check back later in the month for a nighttime shot of the Christmas House.

  3. It looks like fun! I’m glad that you had such a good time! :)

  4. I love the second shot of Dewey. I have a real problem showing my eyes with a smile. A photog told me to close my eyes, smile, then open. “Click.” It came out great.

    I’ll have to try that sometime and see how it works. For this picture, I do recall we were actively yucking it up about something.

  5. Great pictures Greg, I really liked the ‘undercover kitty’! :)

  6. Looks like you had a great time and were able to take in many of the sights and sounds of CT. I trust that you have eyes. Just glad that you were able to share plenty of laughs. :-)

Leave a Reply

