One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

marine-heliotrope

cat-on-longboxes

Here’s a tiny flower cluster on the marine heliotrope, which is sitting in one of those southern windows in the last room of the Nest to be attended to.  

The heliotropes – I saved two from this summer’s garden – are both a bit leggy, though I am trying to carefully prune them down into something a little lower and bushier, in hopes of getting them to survive the winter.

Meanwhile, I mentioned recently about the return of the comic book collection and so there are longboxes here and there throughout the Nest.  Now that they are right here in front of me, I know how much space I need to have available for them and in time, they’ll all be together.  In the meantime, they do give Badum and I a little more face-to-face time.

thistle

If you are looking for something in a purple flower from a slightly different side of that color’s spectrum, then you’re in luck, since I also have this late-season wild thistle blossom I captured alongside Boat Meadow Creek on my way to the bank yesterday morning.  

It’s easy to see the season is drawing to a close, but we still had temperatures in the mid-fifties.   When I stopped for these photos, tide was just beginning to subside and rush back out to the bay.

marsh-waters-1

Comments on: "Little Bits of Purple and Other Things" (7)

  1. Hi Greg! Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

    I like little flowers. And, of course, thistle has a special significance to me!

    Hey, Indigo! Glad you stopped by the garden! Sometimes, the little flowers are the sweetest! I’m a big fan of the thistle, too!

  2. Hi again! I added your site link to my blog. Kewl!

    Thanks, Indi! Once I figure out how to make a blogroll here at WordPress, I’ll be doing the same. Have a great weekend!

  3. When I embiggened your „marsh-waters“- picture I see how lovely it is, autumn is a little bit a sentimental time, a time you can feel you are still alive; with the help of your comics you are face-to-face with your cat (I know I shouldn’t use such a simple word), sounds somehow funny, have a good Sunday.

    Sometimes “cat” is the only word we can use for the indescribable, Martin. Autumn certainly is a lovely time of year, a little sad, plenty beautiful…a sort of catharthis, and somehow full of hope, because it means spring can’t be all that far away, either!

  4. The heliotrope is lovely! I don’t know which I like more, the pretty little flower cluster or the name. “Heliotrope” is one of those wonderful words that trips off the tongue. And doesn’t heliotrope have a lovely scent, too? I don’t remember if that’s one of its characteristics.

    Are all those boxes full of comic books? That looks like a lot of comic books, Greg. Is there such a thing as too many comic books, though?

    Both varieties of heliotrope (there’s a perennial and an annual – this is the latter) are delightfully scented!!

    Yep, those are all full of comic books…and those are just five of eighteen longboxes. Too many of them? You can help me move them next time and decide after that! ; )

  5. We bought our heliotrope at the nursery because it had such an amazing scent and put it outside the bedroom window for those warm evenings when the breezes would waft the scent into the sleeping chamber. That was the idea anyway. The thing is now blooming away but the scent is pretty limited unless you stick your nose in it. Is yours more scented than that? The plant’s attractive, at least!

    X days with Photoshop and still no picture of Badum smiling in the center of a sunflower. Glad to see you’ve fought off that other potential addiction…

    Back during those heady, humid warm days of summer, I could now and then catch a couple notes of the heliotrope scent drifting on the breeze. The perennial variety is stronger in fragrance than the annual purple version, but still you get it best when you bring your nose right into the flower clusters.

    It’s only been a WEEK with Photoshop. Stop pressuring me. ; ) Kitty sunflowers sound a like an excellent January diversion.

  6. I love the picture of the meadow creek. Is this a tidal event or just rain soaked?

    Boat Meadow Creek is a tidal estuary, running through a salt marsh. So it floods and drains twice a day.

  7. Badum looks like he is enjoying his new perch on top of those boxes. Great photo and POV of the bay which provides a lot of depth but keeps everything in focus.

Leave a Reply

