One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

trees-at-dusk

 

last-room-1Here’s a few odds and ends as I get caught up from my time in  between computers and uploading.   As you can see, the view off the deck here at the Nest has changed considerably, as shorter days, autumn winds and some rain have taken so many of the leaves out of the tall locust trees.  I imagine t’will be easier to spot the hawks now.

You may recall that back around the transition between months, I was doing some more painting…particularly some purple, with  which my puma pal  decided to help.  This was NOT the part he rubbed against…but another of the places where I decided to introduce a little fresh color.

The last room is still sort of a catch-all, but I’ve been trying real hard to bring some sense of organization to the space, partly because I knew I had to fit some more stuff in there, as the comic book collection came home to roost this past week.  As you can see, I had my work cut out for me.

last-room-2

last-room-3As you can also see, it’s more of that dancing business…progress forward and then back.  But at least I am starting to get a sense of where things are.   When I finally turn my attention to culling through the book collection, this room will make me itch a little less…but in the meantime, at least I have the illusion that I’m making some inroads.

In addition to all this activity at the Nest, I have also been trying to get the office tidied up at work, as the craziness of the holiday party season begins to gear up for me.  In the process, I found a long braided yarn-thingy that some kid had left behind after some long ago party.  My office is regularly a sort of catch-all for such things,  but when I came across this, I thought it might be my opportunity to turn the exercise tables on my kitty and give him something fun to play with, so I tucked it into my pocket to bring home with me.

As usual, when I got home last night, I could hear him upstairs at the apartment door, calling for me and waiting just inside with rubbings and purrings and hey, look how empty my bowl is (I didn’t feel bad, it was pretty full when I’d left not all that long before…)…and after we’d had a little time together, he ran off into a corner and puked up a tiny piece of ribbon he’d found and eaten earlier.  Delightful.

cat-attention-1

cat-leapsC’est la vie en chat, I suppose.   It certainly didn’t keep him from being excited about the yarn thing once we’d done a little clean-up.  

However, I was careful to put the yarn thing where he can’t get it (well, I hope, at least…) when I’m not around, since he does seem fond of eating such things, which can do him harm if they get tangled up internally.

cat-attention-2

Still, as you can see, we had some great fun with the Yarn Thing for a long while, until he seemed kind of tuckered out and flopped over on his side. 

I put it away and then he climbed into my lap where the evening’s snuggling and purring commenced while I checked some email and read a few blogs.

cat-play

I’m still adapting to the Daylight Savings Time thing and haven’t quite caught a proper sunset in a while.  Of course, these heavy clouds were also obscurring things when I stopped by Skaket Beach on the way home one recent afternoon.

sunset-clouds-from-skaket

Comments on: "Le Vie en Chat, or, Meanwhile Back at the Nest" (9)

  1. Too cute! In that last photo of him, it looks like he’s gearing up to blast you with his Laser Vision!! ;)

    It does, doesn’t it? Fortunately, that doesn’t seem to be in his skill set!

  2. I love the color coordinating and the use of different planes of the walls to utilize those different colors! :-) Glad to see that things are starting to fall into place. And it serves as a reminder that I need to get the plants in from the three seasons room.

    Steven, since this room connects to both the bedroom and the living room, I figured it just made sense to echo some of those colors here. It gives you a sense of the other rooms continuing and seeming a little bigger, I think.

    his room will also, once it’s a little better organized, be a serious plant room, since its three windows get some nice southern exposure and, unlike the matching three in the living room, aren’t shaded by nearby trees as much. When I start seeds this winter, it will be in here.

  3. love the color of the rooms. It is good to see your place is coming together

    hey Vik, thanks. They are some fun colors; I’m pretty pleased with them. It’s great to have all of them, really. Life *should* be full of color!

  4. Looks like things are shaping up nicely. Also seems like that yarn thingy fits in with the apartment’s color scheme. Badum just kills me; I love how unconcerned he is with his feline dignity. Why have a pet that doesn’t like to play or cuddle?

    Paws down: Best. Kitty. Ever.

  5. Isn’t it the best feeling to have a beloved waiting for you? One of my most favorite parts of the day. Although keep in mind, my beloved is of the canine variety and has about 140lbs on Badum! She can be a little pushy at that weight.. hence she is Kiva.. the Diva. But the feeling is the same. Best- mel

    I have known those “heavier” greetings, as well. And you shouldn’t be fooled by Badum’s slim appearance on film. He’s substantial, himself.

  6. Congrats on the move, Greg! How is WordPress?
    Lovely images. Cats are awesome at playing. They are so into those stringy things.
    xo

    hey Gilly! Thanks…still getting settled into WordPress, but so far, so good, I’d say!

  7. That sounds like my kind of cat. A love giver. Beautiful unsunset.

    Yah, he’s just great – even allergic people can’t help but like him, although for them, small doses are best.

  8. I like the naked locust trees. They have some nice curves. :)
    The colors in that cloud bank are awesome.
    Badum looks like he’s having such fun! Does he realize what an online fan club he has? Would that info go to his head?

    I doubt it would go to his head; he’s pretty cool like that. Mostly, he’d be excited to know there were more folks to snuggle or play with, I think.

  9. Funny…your title,..last weekend’s Netflix movie at home was Vie en rose! How I love random convergences… Badum definitely has it good compared to Edith Piaf! Hopefully he doesn’t have as many diva moments.

    Nah, he’s really not much of a diva. I’ll have to watch the movie sometime to be sure, but mostly t’was simply a fun random title that popped out of my head. I did have the song in mind, of course, because, without song titles, I would recall precious little French, indeed!

Leave a Reply

