One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Ends of October

Well, hi there.  I know it seems like its been forever since I posted last.  So it’s a surprise to realize its been less than a week since I’ve done so.

Anyway, the home computer seems to be in its death throes and the regular cycle of System Error messages, crashes and reboots has kept me from doing much in the way of uploading photos or preparing a blog post.   The nice thing is that not having the computer has encouraged me to work a little more on various projects around the Nest.

It’s a little quiet here in the office today, so I can take a few minutes at days end to get a little post up, so you don’t think I’ve died or anything.

We had some fairly nice days this past week, sometimes with temperatures rising into the fifties.  But its cool at night and having all the windows shut – if not also the heat on – is definitely a good idea, and there’s no illusions about what season it is.

Of course, as long as you can find a sunny patch to lounge in, or a soft afghan to make a nest of, life is still pretty sweet if you’re the resident Cat.    While he’s been lounging about the apartment, I’ve been getting a few things accomplished. 

Most of it has consisted of little projects, things which work toward longer-term goals, so they don’t always provide a great sense of getting something done.  

However, this past week did see the conclusion of one bit of a project:  you’ll remember the Green Shelves, no doubt…and the talk of the mirror brackets needing to be purchased.  Finally – and I might add, with no help from the Cat – I got the mirror hung in the bathroom and the shelves alongside them.

I wish I could get a better picture of the space, but the narrowness of the room works against that.   The shelves to the left in this photo are largely concealed by the bathroom door when its open, so what I had to do was shut the door and stick my camera/hand through and take a blind shot.   I’m pretty thrilled with how the mirror looks.  It’s completely brightened up the little bathroom, and since the mirror it replaces was tiny, it’s also a bit more practical (although sometimes a little scary…really, that’s what I look like?!?).

Friday was a sunny day and not too chilly; good news for all the Trick or Treaters who would be canvassing neighborhoods as the day faded to night.

I was admiring my chrysanthemums before heading out on my morning errands and was happily surprised to see this honeybee visit.

It was a bit of prophecy, actually, since I found a this tiny little bumblebee buzzing around the Halloween buffet at the bank when I visited a little later on.

 

 It seems like the Bee was a popular costume this year.  I wish I had gotten a photo of my friend Kendall, who not only dressed up like a bee, but was doubly-adorable when seen in the company of her beau Jeff, who was attired as a Daisy.   I hear they were especially cute when she moved in close to pollinate him.   ;  )

I hadn’t given much thought to Halloween ahead of time.  I suppose I ought to have celebrated my new-found singularity with a great costume and some trick-or-treating at some grown-up gathering somewhere.  The costumed revels might’ve done me good. 

Ah, well…there’s always next year.

As it turns out, it was a pretty quiet night at the Nest, where I was painting walls and moving furniture and unpacking things…as I turned my attention to that last room.  I have a great series of photos of how that’s coming along, but you’ll have to wait to see those.

Meanwhile, my buddy Badum apparently wanted to hop on the holiday bandwagon (or perhaps has spent a little too much time with Patrick) and so began painting himself as the Purple Puma.   

I have to say, as kitties go, he was really pretty agreeable about me washing it off.  He did get some extra treats, though, as every good trick-or-treater should.

Comments on: "Ends of October" (5)

  1. I liked the little bee, so cute! Kitty artist, body painting I guess is his art form. :)

    He’s certainly been expressing himself and his creativity lately!

  2. Sorry to hear that the computer is on it’s last legs. If there is a Circuit City near you you might get a good deal on a new one as they are closing a lot of their stores soon!

    P.S. Happy Belated Halloween!!! :)

    Yes, it’s a bit sad about the computer. I still might be able to pull it back from the brink, but I’m not sure how reasonable that is to hope for. As for Circuit City, they *were* building one not far from here, but they say now it may never open. There IS a Best Buy, though.

  3. Oh, it’s my fault the cat is exploring his purple side, is it? Maybe he was needing new energy in his life, like his roommate. Or maybe he was planning on painting the inside of his box nest. We’ll never know now, will we. Never thought about it before, but he is kind of a big paint roller, isn’t he.

    Oh, he IS a big furry paint roller – I hadn’t thought of that! I do believe it was nothing short of a miracle that he didn’t rub up against a hundred things (like me) before I spotted the purple paint. I was perhaps premature in pinning my puddy’s purple passion on you, pal – I bet you are right: he’s just exploring new possibilities.

  4. That particular shade of purple looks good on the cat. I imagine he wasn’t real thrilled with you washing it off, if he’s anything like a typical cat where water is concerned. Water, as you know, is only to be taken internally.

    The mums are beautiful!! Love all those bees, too. :)

    That was the amazing thing, Java, he really didn’t fuss at all about the damp cloth! Sometimes I think he’s not really a cat. Else he is the Best Kitty Ever.

  5. Great job on the bathroom. Everything has come together nicely. The mirror fits ideally with the flowery shower curtain. The mirror also probably gives the bathroom a little bit more space by making it look larger. Beautiful tones and colors in the photo of the harbor.

Leave a Reply

