One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Wedding Flowers

One of the things I like about my job are all the flower arrangements I get to see for various events we host.  On Friday afternoon, this collection of homemade arrangements arrived, the table centerpieces for the wedding we were to host Saturday evening.

They were overcrowded, a little top-heavy, but just bursting with the love that made them, the love we celebrated last night with the union of Erin and Kalu.  They were joined together in the afternoon, and then joined with all their family and friends in the evening to celebrate the most happy occasion.  We provided the location and the food, but they had the fun…and the greatest and most unexpected collection of 80s tunes for dancing the night away, too!

I wish them friendship and understanding and caring and all the happiness, great or small, as they can grab hold of with each day.  In each of those things, there is love.

The hours I spend with you I look upon as sort of a perfumed garden, a dim twilight, and a fountain singing to it.  You and you alone make me feel that I am alive.  Other men it is said have seen angels, but I have seen thee and thou art enough.

~ George Moore


Comments on: "Wedding Flowers" (4)

  1. I like the arrangements. I’m a sucker for color anyhow so that would be a given.

    I’m with you, Spew; I love the arrangements best that use all the colors available!!

  2. I like them for, among other reasons, the wide variety of flowers included. I think weddings that use homemade things (from flower arrangements to dresses and beyond) are the most meaningful.


    Loved the variety here, for sure…all the colors and different kinds of flowers. And it all goes so well together!

  3. OMG, they are beautiful! While I love such as this, I am always amazed at how much folk spend on flowers at weddings. I guess it helps out our local economies.

    But the beauty! Love it. Thanks

    Aren’t they great, Joe? Flowers certainly can be a pricey part of the event planning, but as you wisely point out, it’s hard to bring that sort of beauty to the proceedings another way. In this case, I think these were all bought inexpensively at the grocery store and arranged at home, which kept the costs down.

  4. I like the home-style bouquets, even with those yellow flowers in them. There’s always more soul in these than in the arrangements from the florists.

    Amen, Brother James.

Leave a Reply

