One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Autumn Saturday

Today, there was no doubt:  it’s autumn in New England.  We’d been blessed pretty well so far this fall with reasonable temperatures and as I’ve mentioned before (during the momentary gas leak crisis last week), the windows here in the Nest have remained pretty wide open both day and night.
Today, the temperature has dipped down to 48 degrees…and with a fairly steady breeze blowing, it might actually feel considerably colder than that.    In the garden, there’s a few more signs that the season is winding down, the year coming to a close.  Drifts of leaves appear in the grass, dotting the landscape.  The skeletal remains of spring’s purple money plant rustle in the breeze, most of its seeds already liberated.

But the garden’s still got it going on, as the chrysanthemums come into their spotlight moment.  Some yellow coneflower sing backup for the mums along the fence.

I’ve been curiously watching this little hydrangea by the front door, trying to figure out how it produces different colored flowers on the same plant.  Sometimes, that can be the product of different soil conditions on different sides of the plant.  But here, I think the older flowers get this pink blush to them as they begin to fade, while the newer flowers start off white.

It was kind of an exciting day here, as I was taking these pictures while I awaited the arrival of Mom, Dad, Sue and Joe, who were coming from Connecticut with two small truckloads of stuff to help outfit the new life.

Having just gotten a bunch of things unpacked, Badum and I are newly boxed in at the horizons again, as there are cartons of things to unpack:  blankets and towels and dishes and glasses and bakewear and afghans and photos and books (‘Tis true, there was no shortage on that count, but I don’t think our family ever gathers without some exchange of books.  It’s always been so.) and I’m not even sure what-all just yet.  I’m told there may be more than I need and I should feel to pass forward to local thrift shops.  It will be interesting, on the next day off, to see just what’s here.

How many people does it take to put together a drop-leaf table?  As many as it takes, which today seemed to be Three.

This little table is rather unremarkable, but for that it is a family heirloom.  It was a free gift, along with four chairs to my great-grandparents from the real estate company when they bought their home just prior to the start of the Depression.

The home didn’t last in the family, but the table somehow has, appearing in a variety of family kitchens through the years, including the primary one of my childhood.  It’s kind of cool that it will be my dining room table now.  Here’s me and Mom staying clear of the table assembly project.

There’s also a pair of dressers, lovely old things,  of which I’ll have to get photos to show you later.  Not only will it be nice to have some more storage for clothes and other linens…but Badum’s happy to have some more levels, you know, flat places to jump up to which are a little closer to eye level with me.  At least, I think that’s the attraction.  I do have a suspicion, though, that the easier access to the dining room spider plant may be the real heart of the exploration of levels.

As I had to work, the visit with everyone was a short one, but I was happy to be able to adapt my schedule enough that we could all sit down and enjoy some lunch together before they had to hit the road headed west, and I dashed off for work.  Thanks, you guys!  It was lovely to see you and show off the new digs and will certainly appreciate all the Bringings!!

{On a side note, one of the things I am sure is contained in one of those boxes is my actual clarinet from high school.  I haven’t played it in years, but I imagine it will look quite lovely displayed in the Conservatory beside the metaphorical sousaphone.)

Comments on: "Autumn Saturday" (2)

  1. The table assembly seems like quite a production.
    Every time I see it I like the color of the dining room better.

    What is it about cats and spider plants?

    Hydrangeas are my favorite! Well, except when daisies are, or morning glories, or camillias, or …


    Yah, that dining room color IS pretty sweet, isn’t it? The table is assembled now, but I will need to get to the hardware store for some shorter screws to finish it off right.

    Spider plants are the apparent favorite of cats as everything else is to us!

  2. I love chrysanthemums! It was so good of your family to help out like that, but, after all, that’s what families should do! :)


    Aren’t those mums wonderful? I found this plant growing – just a single stem and a leaf or two – in a shell path a few houses ago, and dug it out to give it a better chance in one of my sunny beds. The last two years it has bloomed a little tentatively, but this year, it’s coming along nicely, especially considering the recent traumatic move.

    Ah, Tiger, my family is the Best, that’s for sure! As it turned out, my setting up a new house coincided with a recent move and household downsizing for Mom and Dad, so there was a happy surplus to share. We do like to help each other out: I suspect if we were only doing it because we *should*, then we wouldn’t be having so much fun together!

Leave a Reply

