One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Garden Moving

Hi everyone!  Thanks for following me over here.   It’s a bit untidy just yet, as I need to finish getting things like my extensive Blogroll and the garden soundtrack re-established over here…but for now, just like in the real world, I’m beginning to settle in and feel a little comfortable with things…in time, it’ll all fall into place.

I’m pretty happy with this as a theme for the page.  But is there anyone with mad HTML skills who can send simple instructions on how to change those blue tabs in the sidebar to a nice forest green?  I’m not too fussy, but I know what I like.

And for those of you looking for the pictures and story of this past weekend?  Well, you’ll have to be patient just a little longer.   But in related news, I’m pleased to tell you that I have a new monitor for the home computer, and can once again see things in full, true living color!!

Comments on: "Garden Moving" (11)

  1. YAY!!! A new monitor! I’m thrilled for you, dear.

    Like so many things in life lately, Java…it’s quite easy on the eyes. ; )

  2. Oh check out the new digs! Don’t worry we will give you space with this move as well Greg!

    Thanks, Steven! I figure I’m getting to be good at the gentle chaos thing, why not invite some more. Perhaps by Christmas things will be settled down a little…if not, who cares?!?

  3. Just remember the creation story: And the Spirit moved over the chaos.
    That’s when new, wonderful things can happen. Here’s hoping for you . . . . . .
    Nice new digs, on the web, and the Nest!

  4. midnightgardener said:

    Oh, Joe, thanks for that. That’s just perfect!! : )

  5. Hey! Welcome to WordPress!

  6. Right there with you on the forest green.

    I don’t like the new hotmail as I seem to be grousing to everyone.

  7. Hope this new site works well for you.

  8. Nice place! I see you’re still painting here, too. (What, not enough change in your life already?)

  9. Welcome to WordPress. I moved on a while back because Google had ticked me off about something.

    To change the colors you need to edit the CSS, and on wordpress I think you have to shell a few bucks to get CSS editing capabilities. Worth it really.

    Thanks for the welcome and the tip, Truth. I’ll have to check that out…either that, or include instructions on how you can each paint your monitors in the right places! ; )

  10. lostlandscape said:

    Welcome to your new e-home, Greg. New colors, new fonts, new header–I hardly recognized you. (Who’d have ever thunk that you’d select a blog them called “Contempt?”) Hopefully not too much content gets muddled in the transfer. After all your years blogging it’s not like you’re moving out of a little storage locker.

    It’s great to see all the images in your recent posting. Go wild with those photos, man!

    One thing I miss from your last place is the little checkbox to get updates to comments mailed to you, especially since you’re way better than I am at responding to your comments. I know the WordPress.org site has a plugin for that I use–one of the benefits of hosting the software myself, but I didn’t see it in the widget selections on the dot com site. Wah!

    Slideshows don’t seem to make the transfer, or be compatible with WordPress, at least not the ones from Photobucket. Aside from that, James, it seems things have made the jump pretty well. All the comments from the last year or so are here…just not properly associated with the posts they were about…which is wierd.

    Still, will be fun to get myself properly educated about reducing file sizes for pics here, so I won’t have to move (just like in the real world) for a good long time! Welcome!!

  11. Glad to see that the transition is going well. And as I may have said before, the photos seem a lot more dramatic here at WordPress. It may be because of the larger margins that you can work with. But I love what you have created. :-)

    Hey Steven…(what a popular name…) thanks for the compliments. I do appreciate that, and certainly I’m deciding what way to point the camera…most of the time.

    I bet there are a few other factors coming into play here about the photos, too: First, it’s a dramatic time of the year, so I can help getting some good shots. Also, it could be you are appreciating seeing my photos against the white background of this layout, as opposed to the old Blogger green. Thirdly, my transition over to WordPress coincided nicely with the advent of a new properly-colored monitor here at the Nest, which has made the business of actually developing and tweaking photos a little easier and fun for me.

    But anyway, always glad to have you stop by!

Leave a Reply

