One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Cat Stuff…and Coffee

Here’s my very handsome and charming roommate, as seen on one of his favorite new promontories…the bathroom sink. As you can see, the bathroom is still pink, but that is the next painting project on the docket once I finish up the living room this week. Small dinner event at work this evening, so there will probably be no painting when I get home. We’ll see if I am motivated to mask the woodwork and such before heading in to the office this morning.

Badum and I were very pleased to get an email from Mom and Dad last night, and learn that Dewey Cat had returned, apparently no worse for wear, from his walkabout experience after escaping into his new Connecticut neighborhood.

During his absence, I’d remained positive. After all, he’s a smart “little” kitty, who knows where all his catnip toys and treats and people are…and while he was surely interested to explore his new surroundings, I’m sure he was as happy to return home as Mom and Dad were to see him in the driveway.

Meanwhile, I spent the customary fifteen minutes or so in bed this morning, trying to cajole my gray buddy into getting up and hitting the button that would turn on the coffee maker in the kitchen. I should’ve bought one with a timer…

It’s not easy, nor is there much interest, in getting out from under the covers when there’s a warm kitty nestled against your legs, purring his head off. Of course, since he has no need of caffeine and was at least as comfy as me, I had no luck getting him to turn the coffee on.

I wonder, if I set up a network of eyehooks and string…it could run up the bedroom wall, across the ceiling, through the dining room, into the kitchen and then…hmmm, I’d have adapt something to actually flip the switch on the coffee maker…and I AM hesitant to drive a bunch of eye hooks into those newly-painted walls. Thank goodness I have those monkey slippers to slide my feet into as I finally drag myself out from beneath the covers and trudge toward the kitchen.

Here we are, re-snuggling after getting up to turn on the necessary appliances, but returned to bed to await the brewed coffee and listen to the latest bad news as gently presented by NPR. As you can see, my little gray pal was a little suspicious of the appearance of a camera, but I had the flash turned off…and once I’d snapped the picture, it was all about the belly rubbing, at least until that coffee was ready.

Comments on: "Cat Stuff…and Coffee" (1)

  1. S ince its release in late September,

Leave a Reply

