One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Still catching up on a back-log of images…

On Monday evening after work, I came home and jumped right into the painting business. Well, okay, that’s not entirely true. Now that I have a phone and an answering machine, there were messages to listen to, as well.

Now, Comcast may have referred to this as a new number…but they didn’t mean mint. In this case, I appear to have gotten the telephone number of someone named Josh, who ran up a great bit of credit card debt with Capital One, contacted credit counselors about consolidating that debt and also pre-ordered the new Star Wars video game (which is now available) before abandoning the number for me to inherit.


But somewhere in there was also a message for me from my pal, Bethy, who it turned out has a double mattress and box spring in good shape she wants to pass along to me. So we phone tagged a little about the plans to get that to happen…and then I went off to do some painting.

In this case, I was daubing a bit of gold leaf onto the bedroom walls with a sponge, to get a little sparkle going on. The stuff really reeks, though, so even though the windows were open, I was happy to be finishing that just about the time of sunset, and so I made my way off to First Encounter to see the evening’s show.

I had barely arrived when this great bundle of energy and fur nearly bowled me over. Never fear, it was my friend Randy’s kid, Alexander.

‘Xander and I met last week for the first time, and at that time, I happened to have dog treats in my pockets as I was fresh from a visit to the bank…so he gave me the once over and, while disappointed that I was not similarly prepared to see him this week, was still relatively happy to see me.

It was fun to see them, and I enjoyed having a little doggy time.

Randy and I had a chance to visit a little more than during our brief crossing of paths last week, just before everything changed…and so we had much to chat about…and a beautiful sunset and moonrise to enjoy as Alexander explored the dunes and the shoreline for the stinky things that dogs enjoy.


After they’d departed for the rest of their evening, I stayed a little longer to enjoy the feeling of the warm sand on my bare feet and catch the last lingering bits of light over the bay, before heading home for a late dinner and a little more painting.

Oh, what a beautiful time September is.


Did you know the full moon closest to the Autumn equinox is called the Harvest Moon? I suppose we all do, thanks to the old song.

Two out of three years, the Harvest Moon is a September phenomena, but the other year it occurs in October.

They named it that since it appears to rise at a similar time for a few nights, only 20 minutes later than the night before, instead of the usual 50 minutes, giving farmers a little more time to spend in the fields at the harvest.

Leave a Reply

