One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Pretty Things

I imagine you all thought I was kidding when I said it was nice to have the chair so Badum would have a place to sit…so I thought I’d share this image with you. I’m sure if I’d gotten there first, things might have gone differently.
But I was hard pressed to sit still last night, trying out the new Swiffer, playing the sliding tile puzzle game with all the boxes, cartons, milk crates and laundry baskets full of stuff, so I could Swiff (is that that proper verb form here? I’m new…), rearranging furniture, etc.


Anyway, he looked too comfortable to move and when I did sit down, I had color swatch charts spread out on the floor around me.
What fun to have carte blanche with colors! I think I’ve come up with the Plan of Attack, and might even be getting a start on the painting this evening. It just makes sense to try to do as much of it as possible before actually unpacking too much.
Of course, once I was reminded on the radio of the good possibility that the world as we know it might be sucked into a black hole when they turned on that particular accelerator in Switzerland, I did settle down a bit. No point being all exhausted when I get to the Hereafter, I figure. Considering I’d just found a great apartment and paid rent, it made perfect sense that the world might come to an end, at least according to the laws of Murphy.
Still, I was quite happy to see this morning that it had not. Hopefully, those scientists will be able to learn incredible new things about the birth of the Universe without all the trouble of those pesky black holes or dark matter. I can get all that in comic books, for gosh sake.
Considering the last few days, though, I am a little tired and not sure I have loads to say today, so I thought I’d give you a break from all that (and me, too), and just share with you some pretty flower pictures, which have been a bit minimal for the last few days. There are some nice shots from my visit to the garden on Monday that I think you’ll all enjoy.
Oh, but I did want to show you first, one of the cool features of the Gardener’s Nest I hadn’t shared with you yet: this cool, plaster light fixture on the living room ceiling. Not having a supply of spare bulbs, I’ve not had the chance to see if it works yet (on the list of things to do this evening), but I sure hope it does.
Purty, ain’t it?

Leave a Reply

