One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Heigh-ho, everyone. T’was raining lightly this morning when the camera and I wandered out into the garden. Nice to have a break from the watering duties…and it was a light-enough rainfall that it didn’t stop me from having a nice prowl along the fence.
First off, let me just point out that the later morning glories are finally joining the show, which means I’m starting to see more than one color blossom blooming side-by-side, which is fun. A purple cleome has also snuck itself into the above shot.
To the right is one of the phlox plants I mentioned in the meme the other day; that is, its one of my floral pals who’s been with me since the garden in the Adirondacks ten or twelve years ago. In fact, I think this was one of my first mail-order purchases.
I also managed to get a much sweeter shot of the agastache plant, which is looking quite handsome as its blossoms grow larger (taller).
There’s also daisies, allyssum, and two different kinds of yellow marigolds in there. Behind the agastache, you can see the curly grass holding forth.
As you may have guessed, there’s some stuff going on in my life right now I’m not entirely prepared to talk about…which is a lot easier to say than actually keeping the feeling of my turmoil from appearing on the page anyway.
Fortunately, the garden is still a place of calm and peace for me, because that’s turned out to be something that’s more important to me this summer than some others I have known.

Hopefully, you’ll forgive me not saying more just now. I can say, when the dust has settled, I’ll be better off. But as is often the case, the steps required to make a better life are not the easiest ones.
But enough of that, let’s look at this wild and crazy fence post, which is just crowded with things to see. On the far right, you’ll see the white of Queen Anne’s lace, while the post itself is concealed in morning glories run happily amok. In the foreground, the pale lavendar is the (who knew?) highly controversial wild thistle flowers, through which the morning glories are also twining.
There’s an orange sulphur cosmos around mid-image. The yellow in the lower left is some of that thread-leaf coreopsis and the white opposite that is more allyssum. Finally, down in the center by the rocks, are a few dianthus flowers matching the color of the morning glories above.
And high above, beaming brightly as it can against the rain clouds, is yet another sunflower.

I love how these pansies just keep coming and coming this year. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen them so eager and productive this late in the season. No complaints, of course–their cheery faces are certainly welcome!
As the work schedule played out today, I ended up with some office down time, so I was able to enjoy the pleasure of seeing to it that the proper colors of everything are reflected as they should be. With the monitor at home, I’ve been sort of working carefully and mostly just hoping they turned out well.
Tonight I’m feeling a little more confident, since I can actually see how they appear…which is nice. I’ll have to visit Staples and see just how much a new monitor might set me back. I don’t know how much longer I can go on with the “color-blind” thing. I certainly have a greater appreciation – after a few days of tech difficulties – of those who can’t see all the colors the world has to offer.
It’s not as apparent in this image, but it was raining pretty hard as I left for work this afternoon. I may not need to worry about watering tomorrow, either!
I hope you all are having a good Wednesday evening!!

Leave a Reply

