One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Thursday


I saw my young bunny friend this morning as I gave the garden the morning review.

I’d seen one of the medium-sized buns of the bunch last evening and had wondered if it was this little guy, growing fast…but no, he’s still a small one, for now.

Oh, and yah, it looks like he’s a little transfixed by that snake slithering by in front of him, and I was too when I spotted it in the photo this evening.

And then I walked out to the driveway and by moonlight, could see that it was actually a stick.

The morning glories were putting on a nice show today.
Here’s that white cleome again. It’s taller than the others, which are all (so far) purple. They all came from one packet of “Purple Queen” seeds, so I guess this is the “accent” cleome, meant to show off the deep colors of the others.

The hens n chicks’ flower stem is continuing to grow.

What an odd little alien like plant these guys are. I don’t think you really get that image clearly until you see them starting to flower. I’m a little afraid it’s going to suddenly open up a mouth and eat me. Or I would be, if I didn’t know that the flowers will be pretty lovely when they finally open.

I am becoming very fond of these sassafras trees that mark the western border of our little property. I like the bright greens of their mitten-shaped leaves, especially against that blue sky!

When I got to work, I parked under the shade of the pear tree outside my office and was sort of drawn to this little patch of sun and moss. I don’t know why…just a very tranquil little spot in the world, I guess.

It was nice to know where I could find that spot as the day progressed.

After work, I stopped by Rock Harbor for a few photos of the full moon and Jupiter. I’ll let those speak for themselves.




It’s still Doodle Week, and now that I’ve started looking at my old journals, I’m finding all kinds of little floral fiddlybits I worked in here and there. Thought I’d share a few more of those to wrap things up this evening.

Anyone who’d like to see more of my old doodlings, I’ve put together a short post on today’s theme of Doodle Vacation, over at the Other Blog.

Hope your Thursday was kind to you!

I’m having another go at Finishing With Cigarettes starting tomorrow. I’ll try to keep posting but I may take a day or two off just to get through the first screams of the Nicodemon.

Also, there’s a possibility I’ll be getting to see The Dark Knight tomorrow. : )

Leave a Reply

