One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."


You might remember me mentioning the Cape Cod chapter of the American Rhodo dendron Society last month, when we hosted their annual dinner meeting at work.

The members of the society have created and tend a wonderful display garden on the hillside of the Snow Library Green on the corner of Main Street and Route 6A in Orleans. This afternoon, believing there wasn’t much to see in the garden at home(more on that later), I stopped to wander through some of the rhododendrons currently in bloom.

I’ve yet to track down a map of the plantings, so I can’t really tell you much about these different varieties…but I sure can show them to you!




I’m not even sure that alien- looking plant above is a rhodo dendron.

It may just be a nice companion plant in the location, like an array of hostas and pulmonaria and other nearby plants in the garden.

Interesting, though, isn’t it?



It’s entirely possible that the sub concious theme of this post is how little I know sometimes.

Rhodos aren’t my area of expertise, and sadly, neither are trees, though I long to know them all intimately and am always pleased to meet a new one.

I was a bit star-struck by this particular tree, growing outside the library, but it’s an unknown to me. Can anyone introduce me to this species? It sure is a show-stopper!

Leave a Reply

