One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Rainy Friday


It’s a rainy morning here, which is fine by me, since I’ve got a long list of other things that need accomplishing today. Most important is the tracking down of some antibiotics, but there’s also banking and a day in the office to boot, so I’ll keep this brief.

I’m happy to say the sunflowers out in the garden all survived the night well, and are no doubt happy for this morning’s rain. It looks like they might even have grown some since I put them in the ground, though that could be my imagination.

It looks like the jalapeno spray I made is keeping away the bunnies, as we have some tulips that might actually get to put on a show in the coming week. I didn’t save the package, but I believe these will be purple. You may recall that I didn’t get to plant them in the fall, but did take advantage of a January thaw to drop them in the ground, which doesn’t seem to have harmed them in the least.

Leave a Reply

