One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

And So it Grows


Checking in at the Sunflower Academy, some of my most eager seedlings have now surpassed the one foot mark, and still not quite a month old. I’m so proud. I’ll be happy to get these guys outside in the some real sunshine and let them see what they can do.

With such a good start out of the gate, I think we stand to be impressed.

Not far from the sunflowers is this easter cactus. I bought it as just a small plant as a gift to myself when I moved into my Provincetown apartment. It’s never bloomed for me, though grown considerably in the ten years since.

This week, I’m seeing for the first time, a few hot red flower buds. Woo woo!! Don’t underestimate the power of a south-facing window!

The rains were heavy overnight and continued for a while this morning. If there were thunderstorms–I don’t think they materialized–I slept through them (not an impossible scenario).

But the quantity of rain itself was a good test of the new level of the garden…and I’m happy to say, it seems to have passed admirably. The rain water still pools outside the garden, but doesn’t spill through the rocks and flood everything…meaning the water is in the perfect place to feed the garden residents, without washing them away. And that’s good enough for me just now.

As you can see, the rain’s done a world of good for a garden already thriving, and the shades of green seem so much richer today against the dark wet colors of the dirt.

A few of the very full young hyacinths flopped over under the weight of the rain, which is not a sad thing…since I’d been thinking about cutting a few to bring inside.

I’m a big fan of their scent, and it’s kind of fun to have it wafting through the indoors, as well as the garden.

Leave a Reply

