One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Number Nine


Another beautiful day in store for Cape Cod. It’s still only 48 degrees, but we should see some warming as the day goes on. And there’s not a drop of rain in the forecast.

Which is why I was outside with coffee in one hand and the hose in the other at 7:30, giving the border a nice soaking. I guess there’s some residual post-hot tub bliss going on, but what a lovely morning, all the birds singing and otherwise, no noise at all.

I forgot to tell you on Thursday about my realization. The neighbors may come to think I’m a little batty, but I found myself cracking up all by my lonesome as I worked out there and I discovered that–for the second time–I have accidentally created a garden bed which must look pretty damn phallic from the air. (Really, I know you don’t believe me, but it wasn’t intentional!)

Anyway, the effect will be muted once I’ve completed digging up the bed around the lamp-post…but for now…well, I guess I’m glad we don’t see more plane crashes due to distracted pilots.

Happy Weekend, everyone! I’m off to work…

Leave a Reply

