One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

At Coast Guard Beach


Last night’s dramatic clouds brought us some light showers in the wee hours, but were breaking up as the storm moved back out to sea this morning.

After picking up the new glasses again (Yay!), I was headed to the bank in Eastham and decided to detour to Coast Guard Beach.

Not only did it get me away from the re-paving project on Route 6, but as it turned out, the surf was more exciting than normal…and the clouds moving out to sea were pretty cool, too.

I think the dragon’s head is pretty clear (above, left)…but I also just watched “Jurassic Park”, so maybe that’s just me projecting.


Here’s another video experiment. Due, I think, to the close proximity to the noon hour, the color balance is a bit off, and I’m not sure how to adjust that yet. Anyway, the crashing waves were pretty cool, even if the wind off the water plays a little havoc with the audio.


As I headed on to the bank, I spotted one of the Eastham turkeys foraging along the roadside. Always cool to see them, though he (she?) beat a hasty retreat into the woods when the camera and I appeared.

Leave a Reply

