One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Friday’s Progress


Rain continued this morning, but fortunately tapered off just before noon, and so I was able to get back to work on the new garden border…which is starting to look like one now. It will be fun to have all this done, so I can enjoy the business of deciding where each plant will go, as I plan out how I might like it to look.

Growing amongst the grass beneath the fence was this creeping plant. It looks a little minty, but also seems vaguely familiar. I wonder if its some form of campanula. Anyway…I was able to salvage a few nice clumps of the stuff from the weeds and grasses and have replanted those along the edges of the bed. Even if they don’t bloom, the green is nice.

I also discovered an old rose root amongst the plant matter I was sorting out from soil. If not for the tiniest leaves to identify, it would’ve found the debris pile. But I spotted it and replanted and we’ll see how it does.


Here’s the sum total of today’s accomplishment, which was a good one. I should be able to finish the other end tomorrow morning and maybe have a little time left to work around the lamp post.

Either way, the plants are arriving on Sunday. Everything will work out fine: the universe sent me a sign.

Comments on: "Friday’s Progress" (1)

  1. Looking good Greg! The new place looks really nice – and the fence will make a nice gardening area…

    Heather – Pence that is

Leave a Reply

