One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Sunny Monday


Ah, a day off, and some sunshine. Temps stayed in the fifties and I did get the paths and the back yard mowed, which was needed.

I’m afraid I wasn’t overly productive, otherwise, distracted by my poison ivy and hestitant to get back into the big digging project.

Still, I wondered around to see what all was going on…like this first blue columbine climbing up out of the ferns at the back of the house.

I imagine these are not officially buttercups. They don’t seem exactly what I remember from childhood by that name. But still, these guys are blooming all over the place, and will continue to do some for a while now.

These ferns at the back of the house are denser than ever this year. Here you can see them surrounding some lily plants.

I guess I spoke too soon yesterday. It’s a good thing I gave the lilies another serious going over today, as I did find a few of the dreaded lily leaf beetles. Fortunately, there were only a couple and I did squash them shortly after taking this photo.

I don’t see much damage from them yet, nor any sign of their nasty larvae…but I’ll try to remain diligent.

I was looking over the turk’s cap lilies in the front garden bed (found another of the beetles there…), when I heard some rustling in the leaves under the andromeda bush. I wandered over for a look to see what was going on under there…and happened to catch a meeting between two moles.

They are only partially visible here, and that’s probably a good thing. Let’s just say that if my shots were any clearer, moles surfing the Internet would need to provide proof of age before being allowed to look at them.

On the western side of the house, the first Star of Bethlehem blossom has opened.

Late afternoon brought a visit to the meadow, where the pond has begun to spread after last week’s rain. I love all these little ferns that are sprouting up around the edges of the water. I don’t remember having seen them out there before.

This big frog seemed undisturbed by my close approach, and I didn’t try to bother him, either. Hey, he’s got flies (and hopefully some mosquitos) to catch, and doesn’t need me interrupting his day.

Leave a Reply

