One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Friday


Nothing especially new to show you today, so I thought I’d focus a little more on this little daffodils.

I had thought to actually tell you something about them…but I’m a little annoyed with myself to see that I did not hang onto the packaging that they came in when I bought them at Christmas Tree Shop last fall. So, we’ll just have to be content to enjoy the sight of them, and not worry about their identity.

Here’s a nice pear and cherry tree combination found over on Edgewood Road here in Eastham. The cherry is closer, and to the right in the photo, and has a slight pink cast to its blossoms. The pear tree is taller, further away, and more of a true white. I also dig the way those dwarf evergreens have grown around the split-rail fence.

On the way home from work this evening (around 11 pm), I caught the moon rising over the Atlantic, in this view from Fort Hill. I’ve tried to find out what the planet is (it seems too bright to be a star)which you can see in the upper left hand corner, but to no avail. Anyone know? While I wasn’t able to track that down, I did find this notice of a possible meteor storm at summer’s end. Mark your calendars now!!

I wish my camera was just a little better. The moon was certainly lighting up the whole area pretty nicely…but little of that reads in the actual photo.

Which brings me to a technical note. Apologies may be in order. Recently I’ve had the opportunity to look at the garden blog on other monitors than mine at home, and I’ve come to realize that my monitor (which is a replacement from the original, and difficult to adjust) seems to be set brighter than others…which means some of my photos look a little dark when seen on other monitors, when they look spectacular on mine. SIGH. I’ll try to remember to keep things a little lighter when I’m “developing”.

Leave a Reply

