One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."



Ah, a gorgeous day in the garden today. It was cool this morning, but we eventually had 63 as a high temperature.

A delightful day for working outside in the garden. My back’s sore this evening, so I know I accomplished something.

By the end of the afternoon, I’d raked out all of the beds in the back garden, as well as some other areas I’d not yet raked in years past. Every year I expand the reach of the garden a bit…bwa ha ha!

I was feeling brave and strong, and so I decided to take on the wilds of the raspberry and blackberry canes. It was definitely a case of “This is going to hurt me more than it hurts you”, as far as the relationship between me and the thorny bastards. But I think I made some progress.

I also got a yucca plant transplanted, and then, so it wouldn’t be lonely, I planted some creeping phlox at its feet and a nice big columbine plant nearby. All three were the first to be planted into a bed I still have to properly dig out…but having jumped in to do this corner will now (theoretically) encourage me to get the rest of it in shape.



Here’s a nice look at that new orange-cupped daffodil out there.

Towards the end of the afternoon, I discovered that the fruit trees I gave a hard pruning to are all doing very nicely and starting to bloom, too.

I’d thought this one was a peach tree. It hasn’t done much in our two years here, so I’d only be guess. It sure was nice to see the blossoms today!

But the peach tree is also coming into bloom today, and the blossoms aren’t the same…so now I’m assuming the one above is a cherry tree.

In any case, all the blossoms are beautiful…and the peach tree is about to be covered with them. Perhaps we’ll have a nice crop of juicy peaches this July!

Comments on: "Working In the Garden" (1)

  1. thriftshopromantic said:

    Lovely! Go go grape hyacinth!…

    Well, Greg, you SAY no one ever leaves you comments…. :-)

Leave a Reply

