One gardener's observations, discoveries and random thoughts whilst simultaneously worshipping and dallying in a Cape Cod garden. "A garden," said Ralph Waldo Emerson, "is like those pernicious machineries which catch a man's coatskirt or his hand, and draw in his arm, his leg and his whole body to irresistable destruction."

Full Flower Moon


Once again, we began our day with a nice heavy rain shower. It didn’t last long, but gave everything a nice soaking. But it turns out that everyone, including this ostrich fern, thinks a drink is a good way to start the day.

Bloody mary, anyone?


Opting instead for coffee, I enjoyed my usual prowl, enjoying the latest featured players, like this pretty pink primrose.

And I made some mental notes about some of the things I wish to accomplish with the upcoming day off. There’s plenty of raking to do, but the gardens out back are also begging for a little more attention, to clear away some of the old growth from last year’s end-of-season wildness.

I did also get some of those foxglove seedlings transplanted this morning!

Hey, the comments and mail I’ve received about last week’s Hunt the Peeper game has been so astounding(not), that I thought I’d revisit the notion again today, in a new game I like to call Can You Find The Chickadee?

There was plenty of activity from these little birds this morning. The woods around the back gardens were echoing with their two-note love calls. It seemed like just about everyone was paired off, as is often the case this time of year…except this little one, who chose instead to perch in the pine bough and keep an eye on me.

However, the sun was behind him, so a better shot was unlikely and anyway, I had eyes mostly for the latest blooms… and parti cularly, my favorites, the grape hyacinths.

This shy daffodil is also joining the rest of the gang out there. I look forward to a better look at it tomorrow, when hopefully it will turn its face toward the sun (and my camera). Meanwhile, after the morning’s rain, the hyacinths were scenting the air quite nicely.

It’s hard to believe another year’s sped by (especially considering how long some of those winter days and nights seemed to be), but here we are, back at the Full Flower Moon again.

I snapped this shot as I dashed to the car after work this evening, eager to capture the seeming giantness of the moonrise this evening(in “person”, it appeared to be about two to three times the size of the streetlamps)…but also eager to get myself home in time to watch LOST.

And a most interesting episode it was this evening, too. About time.

When it was through, I was drawn back to the moon (also known this month as the Full Corn Planting Moon, or the Milk Moon) and I snapped this shot, as the Phoebe’s Orb attempted to get into the house through our back window.

Leave a Reply

